What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2017

Nightstand82The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

It seems like the last Nightstand was so long ago, yet September seems to have flown by. I don’t know how such opposite sensations can coexist. But let’s get to this month’s reading:

Since last time I have completed:

Resurrection by Leo Tolstoy, audiobook, reviewed here. A young man finds himself on jury duty for a prostitute accused of murdering a client and realizes she was a girl he loved and took advantage of in her youth and innocence. Realizing he set her on this path, he aims to help her, and in doing so is transformed himself. Didn’t enjoy this as much as I thought I would, but enjoyed Tolstoy’s storytelling more than his pontificating.

Taking God At His Word: Why the Bible Is Knowable, Necessary, and Enough, and What That Means for You and Me by Kevin DeYoung, reviewed here. Excellent.

The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate, reviewed here. A woman moving up in her publishing career finds a mysterious old manuscript on her desk, and its story captures her. But unraveling the mystery of it may lead her to a past she wants to keep buried. Excellent!

The ESV MacArthur Study Bible. I don’t usually include my Bible reading here, but since I did finish this as a book, both my first time through the ESV and through MacArthur’s notes, I thought I’d mention it. I might share some of my thoughts on it at some point. I didn’t end in Revelation, by the way – I was in the Psalms when I received it as a gift so I picked up there and just finished there.

I’m currently reading:

God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn’t Make Sense by Jennifer Rothschild

Jayber Crow by Wendell Berry along with a group led my Michele, which is greatly enhancing my reading.

Jane Austen: Christian Encounter Series by Peter Leithart

The Sea Keeper’s Daughters by Lisa Wingate

Up Next:

Love in Hard Places by D. A. Carson

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

To Be Where You Are, Jan Karon’s newest!

I’m looking forward to some good reading next month. How about you?

Save

8 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2017

  1. Ha, I know what you mean — September did fly, but it does seem like a while since last time for a nightstand 🙂 Your reads all sound interesting to me. I like the idea of reading the Bible through with notes too. I should do that; it would add another layer and probably help me see things through a new/different lens.

  2. I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on the ESV McArthur Study Bible, Barbara. I am looking forward to Jan Karon’s new book! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on the MacArthur ESV Study Bible | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

