Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall flowersIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

September is going by so fast. Here are some highlights of the last week:

1. Youngest son Jesse’s birthday.

2. A successful gluten-free lemon bundt birthday cake. I had two different recipes but not all the ingredients for either one, couldn’t find what I needed at the store I was in, but had no time to go to another. I improvised and hoped for the best, and it turned out great! (Sigh of relief!)

3. Restful days. I don’t usually have the TV on in the daytime except for when Jesse and I watch something while eating lunch together. But I gave myself permission to catch a program I had missed one afternoon and then spent the rest of the afternoon doing relaxing things. Nice to do that every now and then!

4. Messages from my grandson Timothy. Every now and then his parents will help him send a voice text over the phone. I love having his little voice on record. One day he told his mom he wanted to text, but when she recorded it, he said, “I want to Face Time please” in such a sweet little voice. So we did! Another time he wanted to FaceTime, but I was in the store: I am not coordinated enough to shop and FaceTime at the same time, and there’s no good place to pull over in the grocery store to do that. Jason sent a voice text with Timothy repeating in a disappointed voice, “Want to say hi.” So we sent a few voice texts back and forth, saying Hi that way. πŸ™‚

5. The first day of fall is today! We’ve slipped back into more of a summer feel the last few days, but here’s hoping those crisp, cool days will return soon. I’m hoping to get out my fall decorations in the next day or two!

Happy Friday!

Save

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Awe that is so sweet that they are showing you love like that! Great trait to instill at a very early age! HAPPY Birthday! :))
    OH, those relaxing days. That is the only reason I can’t wait for many inches of snow! To lay around and do nothing! Mr. just can’t do that when it is warm, daylight, dark, spring, summer, or fall… πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. Timothy’s voice texts will be a priceless memento. My son’s second grade teacher recorded each of her student’s reading their favorite stories. I just treasure that tape.

    Fall is one of my favorites for the week, too. Hope to get some decorations out soon.

    Happy Birthday to your son!

  3. oh how yummy that cake looks and happy birthday to your handsome son. I do not watch tv at all except when Law and Order :SVU has new episodes ( it starts next week!!) so i will splurge on Wed evenfs and watch that. but i agree it is nice to relax and very important for us busy women to do that each day.

    Timothy is definitely a child of the 21st century!πŸ˜‰

    I came home from work today after a LONG day of teaching, two errands and a hair appt. and started getting out some autimn decor.

    have a happy weekend!

  4. Hurray for FaceTime, texts, phones and any other invention that helps us communicate better with our grandchildren.
    That is a sigh of relief when a new recipe (especially one cobbled together for an important event) turns out well. Lemon is my fave! How fun to celebrate another birthday. Congrats and happy birthday to Jesse. We always serve multiple flavours of ice cream at our celebrations, too.
    So glad you got to watch your show and thus take it easy. I imagine that is still an important part of your recovery?
    Have a great week, Barb, and make it truly be fall-like.

  5. I tried earlier to post and wrote a ling comment but wordpress was not cooperative. Trying again… Happy Birthday to Jesse!
    And I’m glad that you are getting some restful times during your busy days.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

