Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

The first week in September has passed already! Here are some of my favorite parts of it.

1. A good visit with the doctor. I had my yearly physical this week and was all prepared for bad blood sugar results (and a scolding) due to all the family birthdays and stay-cation and lack of exercise after surgery. I am not diabetic, but my blood sugar has been higher than normal, so I was supposed to have been working on weight and diet since last time. I was bracing myself – but my blood sugar was lower than last year!

2. These donuts (ironic that I’d mention donuts right after blood sugar issues….). I’m not big into pumpkin-flavored everything this time of year, but these caught my eye in the store, so I thought I’d give them a try. They’re not going to be something I get regularly, but they were nice for a treat.

IMG_0369

3. Safety driving. Jesse was in Atlanta with friends over Labor Day weekend and drove there and back safely.

4. Coolness. That crisp, cool fall air that I love about the season arrived this week. We’ll probably still have some hot days off and on, but it’s good to get a taste of fall. (And another aspect of fall is football, which I am generally not much into, but we’ve started watching some UT games since we moved to TN. Their first game last Monday was a nail-biter!)

5. Time with Timothy. First, last weekend I got a voice message from Jason’s phone with Timothy saying, “Grandma!!!! Can come over dere?” I wish I could play it here – it was so cute. Then, our dryer died this week, and I asked Jason and Mittu if I could use their dryer for a couple of loads this morning (Thursday). While there Timothy and I painted at the table and then he wanted me to “play toys” in his room. It was a fun and relaxing time.

Happy Friday!

Save

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. It is good to catch up with you….Thankful you got a good report….and enjoying this special time with Timothy…..all too soon their teens and college age…time flies. I’m thankful for the fall weather also and in August, I remember how hot August used to be and this is so much better….I guess the hottest month was July and I’m thankful my utility bill wasn’t so bad.
    Mama Bear

  2. SO glad to hear you got a good report! Nope, those donuts are not my thing either. I can’t believe how big Timothy is! Time has sure gone fast since we prayed for the that little premie! 🙂
    Yikes! I told my son to stay home Labor day weekend. We did not want to temp fate before he left for basic training! Giving praise for safe travels! Hope you have a wonderful weekend Barbara!

  3. There was a nice silver lining in the breaking of your dryer! Hurray for time with your grandson. How cute that he called to request your presence.

    Hurray also that your blood sugar was lower this year than last.

    It looks like the pumpkin donuts are powdered. I will have to check these out. I bet they taste good with a cup of hot coffee or tea.

    Have a good week, Barbara.

  4. Aw! Nothing like it when your grandchildren WANT to spend time with you. My heart swells up when my daughter tells me the twins are begging to go over to “MiMi’s house.”

    Yay for the cooler temps. We were able to turn the A/C for awhile!

  5. Hurray on the good dr report. Keep it up!
    That was so sweet for Timothy to call you and asking to come over ‘dere’. Time with grandkids is so special.
    I’m glad you’re safe in the horrible weather. We all have friends or family in those areas so we all are concerned for their safety.

  6. Wow, that’s great that you had good sugar numbers. It’s hard when it’s celebration time. Timothy is adorable and the best time spent while your clothes dried. It’s always a relief when our kids make it somewhere and back safely when they are driving…no matter how old they are!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

