Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I cannot fathom how we’re 1/3 into August already! And August is a busy month for us, so I imagine it will go pretty fast, too. Here are some favorite parts of the last week:

1. An unexpected gift from a blog friend. Dianna sent me a sweet card and this cross that her husband made as a recovery gift after my surgery. I was so touched by their thoughtfulness. (The flowers are from Jason and Mittu, favorites, too!)

2. A gel seat cushion in my computer chair has been a big help with sciatic nerve pain.

3. Peanut butter chocolate chip mug cake. I’ve made this a few times now (not all of them this week! πŸ™‚ ) It’s an easy recipe, 1 minute in the microwave, and perfect when I want something sweet but not a whole panful of something.

4. My husband’s sous vide chicken and pork loin. He made them on Sunday, and usually I use the leftovers in a stir-fry, but this week we used them in salads a couple of times. Very good!

5. Healing. I am feeling much better than I was this time last week. I’m making my first excursion to the grocery store today since the surgery, taking Jesse with me for the heavy lifting and to take over if I tire out. πŸ™‚

Bonus: Finding some time this week to work on a special project I’ve been wanting to get to for ages. I hope to share more when I have more done with it. πŸ™‚

Bonus 2: Timothy’s reaction when he noticed 3-D cows on a Chick-Fil-A billboard: “Cows up there! They’re drawing!”

Happy Friday!

 

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. oh it sounds like you are recovering bery well. i need that pb choc mug cake recipe!! im not a huge cake fan but that sounds fun to try.

    I think your grandson is adorable and i love hearing stories about him!

    enjoy the weekend!

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed the little gift. πŸ™‚ I’m also glad that the gel seat helps you. I have printed out the recipe because it sounds and looks yummy…not to mention the fact that we both love peanut butter and chocolate. πŸ™‚ Loved Timothy’s reaction to the Chick-fil-A three D cow! Have a lovely weekend, Barbara.

  3. I love mug cakes/muffins, too. I’ve never made one with milk and no egg. I am going to see how to modify it with almond or coconut flour (for my gluten free daughter). This is the perfect serving size to have around me.

    I never heard of a gel seat cushion before. Do you have a preference? An office mate is having sciatic .issues. I looked up such a cushion on Amazon.

    That cross is gorgeous! What a wonderful piece of art. And how sweet to receive a card from a blog friend.

    Barb, I am sooooo glad to hear your are doing better and was even able to go out this week. You continue to be in my prayers.

  4. Sciatic pain is horrible. I never thought of a gel pillow for the chair. Definitely will look into that! Glad to hear you are coming along in your recovery. And what a sweet gift from the blogging friend.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

