Stray thoughts

A few weeks ago in the store, a family of three was across from me in the aisle, and the wife asked where the Shake N Bake was. The man quoted from the old commercial, “It’s Shake N Bake, and I helped!” The wife and 10-or-so-year-old son looked at him like he was crazy, and then he saw me smiling and said, “She remembers!” I’m glad I could help vouch for his sanity with his family. πŸ™‚

Am I the only person in the world who is nauseated by the scent of lilacs? I was delighted to learn that one of our bushes outside was a lilac bush a few years ago, and cut off some for a vase inside – but had to throw them out. Someone recently gave us a flower arrangement with a few lilacs in it, and first I had to put it in another room but eventually had to pull them out of the arrangement and throw them away. I was so disappointed.

I was telling my husband there needs to be a word or phrase, something like “friendly fire,” for problems you pick up at the hospital that aren’t directly related to your original issue. Like bruises from ivs and blood draws – I always look a little beaten up after a hospital stay. I also have anΒ  allergic reactions to some adhesives, but this time was the worst ever with the dressings plus some patches on my back. With this surgery they have a more extensive kind of heart monitor, and I had three big (four-inch across) patches on my back for that plus the outline of a pad of some kind I must have been lying on that all left itchy welts (I called them my crop circles). We’ve been using lots of Benadryl cream! Then, I had been on my back for so long, and my bottom took the brunt of that pressure, so that my sciatic nerve got irritated or inflamed or something, making it extremely painful to sit down for the first few days. Thankfully all of that is much better now.

So it hasn’t been the cozy, restful recovery I was anticipating. πŸ™‚ I’ve been doing more sleeping than reading, which is probably for the best. Years ago when I had my first surgery, Jim came across an article about an experiment in which they put healthy, fit football players under anesthesia to measure the effects of the anesthesia itself without an underlying illness, and it showed that it took about six weeks just to get back to normal from having that in their system.

Monday night I had a scare with an episode of afib that lasted about 7 hours. I had been told that the ablation itself could cause some arrhythmia, just from all the poking around they did in there, and it takes about a month for all of that to heal and settle down. I had been feeling some ripples and spasms and am on a couple of anti-arrhythmia meds, but when this went on and on, I was discouraged that the surgery hadn’t worked (I was told sometimes they have to do it twice). I wanted to go to the ER, but my husband felt we needed to talk to my doctor directly – with having just had surgery, there might be something they’re supposed to do or not do. Everything resolved by morning, and when I finally heard back from my doctor’s nurse, she reassured me that this was normal and didn’t mean the surgery wasn’t successful. So I was still a little dismayed that it happened but not as much as I had been.

But otherwise I do feel I’m gaining back strength and getting a little more back to normal every day.

July 27 was my eleven-year blog anniversary. Usually I mention that in a special post and sometimes even have a giveaway, but this year it completely slipped my mind until WordPress sent me a notice. I guess I was a little distracted with the upcoming surgery. πŸ™‚ It’s interesting how the blog world has changed over the last decade. I miss some old blog friends who are no longer online. But I am extremely thankful for you who are reading! I’ve made some lifelong friends online! I’m still amazed that people read here, but I am grateful, and your care and comments mean the world to me. Thank you.

Save

5 thoughts on “Stray thoughts

  1. Oh, my friend, I had no idea that you were ill. I am SO thankful that you are on the mend.
    Congrats on your blogging milestone.After 9 years I finally made the switch over to WordPress this week.
    Same address at http://www.decortoadore.net
    I still have to work out about 10 more kinks. Hopefully, it will be fully fun and functioning by next week. Let me know if you have any issues. I appreciate any input.

    Have a wonderful day!
    Laura

  2. Hope you heal up quickly and can return to health soon. Happy blogging anniversary. I’ve been at it since 2007. Have a good week. Continue to rest and let God’s healing be upon you.

  3. I remember Shake n Bake too. πŸ™‚ I’m sorry that your recovery hasn’t been as restful as it might could have been, but glad that you are getting lots of sleep; as much as I hate to admit it, sleep is more important than reading. Happy Blog Anniversary! I started in ’08 so you’re two years “older” than me. πŸ™‚

  4. Sorry to hear you had had all these complications since your surgery, Barbara. I think the thing that bothered Rob most about his procedure last year was a bad reaction from the tape where they had inserted the catheter leading to his heart. It became very red and inflamed. Both Rob and our son Mark have had terrible reactions to the substance they use to cleanse the arm when you give blood. They both had to go to the doctor and were put on steroids which present their own problems. πŸ™‚ Hope things get better soon.

  5. I would have been right there with you in the grocery aisle smiling because I, too, remember Shake N Bake commercials. That little girl had a very southern accent. πŸ™‚ Sleeping probably is the best thing for you now as it will help your body to heal and help you regain strength. I’m so sorry about all of the allergic reactions that you have experienced with this surgery. Having another afib experience would be scary that soon after surgery. Especially when you had just gone through the surgery to correct it. My prayers continue for you.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

