Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been a pretty eventful week, and I am so blessed to have seen God’s grace in it. Here are a few favorite things:

1. Sharing. This was actually a couple of weeks ago, I think. A lady in our church with Parkinson’s has been having trouble swallowing and needed to go to a pureed diet. Jim offered to go over and share with her husband what we do in preparing pureed food for his mom, and I think it was a big help, especially this temperature gun so you don’t have to keep sticking your finger in the food or tasting it.

2. Rediscovering unused gift cards. I was looking at the Galkin Evangelistic Team‘s new CDs, and since they’re on iTunes, I dug around in my desk for an iTunes gift card tucked back in there. I found two, and thought I had already used one, but I put it in just in case, and it hadn’t been used. So I found $75 worth of iTunes credit that I didn’t know I had! We occasionally rent movies through iTunes, so it’s nice to have some credit in place for that.

3. Hummingbirds. It seemed to take them longer than usual to find us this year, but now we see them regularly.

4. Surgery OVER. The surgery itself went well, and though we had a problem with bleeding afterward, everything seems to be ok and on the mend now. I got home yesterday afternoon. I’m still on anti-arrhythmia meds for a few weeks while everything heals and settles down, but I’m hoping that when I see the dr. next month, I can get off those.

5. Family and friends. My husband is an excellent caregiver and doesn’t mind anything from changing dressings to making breakfast and washing dishes. Jesse made Great-Grandma’s breakfast one morning we were gone and Mittu made it the next day. Jason and Mittu stayed overnight Wed., and Jason turned Great-Grandma over during the night. Mittu made three meals ahead of time for us. GG’s regular caregiver lives close by, so she popped in to feed her dinner and get her ready for bed in the evening. Jesse even fixed his shower handle that broke while we were away. I didn’t know he knew how to do that. πŸ™‚ I so appreciate everyone pitching in. β™₯ I also was blessed by cards, text messages, emails, Facebook comments, and phone calls from loved ones and friends, and especially everyone’s prayers.

I’m spending the weekend relaxing and recuperating. πŸ™‚ Hope you have a great weekend as well!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’m so very glad to hear the procedure went well (minus the extra laying flat time) and that you’ve had such good help around the house to cover for you. I know just what you mean about those iTunes credits πŸ™‚ I don’t buy a lot of music and had a small stack of gift cards waiting to be redeemed. Good thing they don’t expire!

    How gracious of God to provide knowledgeable people when we need them. I’m sure it was a big help for your husband to share his experience.

  2. I am so glad that you have the surgery behind you and I am blessed at how He has shown His graces to you through others. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m glad everything is going well for you, and that you have a husband who is such a good caregiver. A blessing, indeed. I haven’t seen a hummingbird all summer, in my backyard. I thought I could entice them with a new feeder, but they have snubbed their beaks at it! That iTunes gift card was a great find!

  4. I’m glad your procedure went well apart from that little set back and that you seem to have plenty of help around you while you recuperate. Enjoy using the gift card and take it easy.

  5. Wasn’t that sweet of Jim to share his knowledge. I’m sure that was much appreciated! You are truly blessed with a wonderful daughter in law. And the itunes find? Awesome! I’m sure my hubby wishes he’d find some of those. Ha!

  6. Glad your procedure went well and that you have such a helpful family! You are blessed!

    I’d love to run across any unused gift cards I might have – it’d be like getting a second gift. I’m pretty sure I have none, though, LOL.

  7. Good news on the surgery and the recovery! You are truly blessed with your family close by to help.
    Don’t you just love the surprise of finding the gift cards? It’s like getting the same present twice.

  8. You had a lot of thoughtful and consistent help this week. Hurray for family snd friends. And hurray that you are fine.
    How fun to be found by hummingbirds. They are amazing birds.
    Found gift cards? What a blessing indeed! I’ve never heard of the group you linked to. I will go check them out. I guess I am really behind the times as I didn’t know you could rent movies through iTunes.

  9. Yay! Answered prayers with surgery being over and having gone well, despite the one little thing (it seems there’s always something). I’m glad too that your husband is a good caregiver! I’m enjoying our hummingbirds here a bit to the north also. It always seems to take them a while to find us also, and now I’m hoping they’ll stay around a while before heading … wherever they go! $75 in “found” gift cards sounds lovely as well! Enjoy that new music πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

