Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It has been a relatively quiet week, which is much appreciated! Here are the best parts of it:

1. A useful tip. I enjoy coming home to a crockpot meal on Sundays after church but I don’t like getting up half an hour early to prepare them. I thought if I could just get the potatoes peeled the night before, that would take care of the bulk of it. I discovered that you can indeed peel potatoes ahead of time and keep them in water in the refrigerator overnight to keep them from turning brown. That helped a lot!

2. Easy fixes – or my husband’s magic touch. I hate greeting him right after work with news that something has gone wrong with an appliance. On Tuesday, two of them acted up. We’ve been having some trouble with the washer’s spin cycle, and this time it just stopped with a tub full of clothes and water. It had been making noise but not spinning, but this time it didn’t respond to any setting on the dial and didn’t make any noise at all. I thought it had finally died. Then the sound went out on my mother-in-law’s TV. I turned it off and on, plugged and unplugged things, but nothing changed. So I broke the news after he got home, and while I was finishing making dinner, he turned on the washer – and voila, it worked fine. He said maybe it was just tired. πŸ™‚ Then he unplugged his mother’s TV for ten minutes and then plugged it back in – and it worked fine as well. While that’s maddening on one hand, I really was glad they started working and that neither one was going to cost a lot of time, money, and headaches to deal with.

3. An evening with Timothy. His parents went out for a rare date night while he stayed with us – and they brought us pizza! Everything went fine — well, except for a little accident requiring the use of the wet vac and running his clothes through the washer. πŸ™‚ But those things happen, and I am glad Jim was there when it did so we could deal with it together. I’m glad Timothy enjoys staying with us, and it’s fun to see his little imagination going all the time. He was pretty fascinated with the wet vac, too. πŸ™‚

4. Barbecue and a movie. Jason and Mittu had rented a movie on their Apple TV and offered to bring it over so we could watch it before the rental expired, plus they brought take-out from a favorite barbecue place.

5. Encouraging comments and offers of prayer for my procedure next week to try to fix my atrial fibrillation. You all are the best. πŸ™‚

Hope you have a great Friday!

 

Save

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. What special blessings you had this week, Barbara! I am so glad that things turned out well with both your washer and your mother-in-law’s TV. I guess maybe both of them were tired. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you and your husband had the opportunity to watch Timothy. How thoughtful of his parents to bring over pizza! And then another time with the barbeque when they brought over the DVD. You have a really special and thoughtful family, my friend. But then you already knew that. πŸ™‚

  2. Sigh. I can certainly relate to the appliances (and other technology) suddenly behaving.
    It kind of sounds like you’ve got a budding engineer in little Timothy. It’s lovely that you’ve had extra interactions with him this week. I’m behind on the bloggy news, but will certainly pray for your procedure to go well, doctors to be alert to any anomalies, and strong recovery.

  3. Praying that your procedure will be complete, successful and stress free. It’s so good when you have a doctor that listens and understands your concerns.
    Timothy’s escapades always make me smile.
    My hubby also has those magic hands as does my son. Son tells me, ” Mom, it just smells your fear.” πŸ™‚

  4. i have some cardiac appointments coming up in the next two weeks so now i not only will pray for my self but for you too!! πŸ™πŸΌ

    i think it is a REAL blessing that your appliances worked after hubby’s magic touch and that you live so close to your grandson you can banysit. I am sure that is fun!!

    prayers going uo for you.

    enjoy the weekend

  5. So glad your appliances got fixed so easily! My husband re-installed my dishwasher this week, and fortunately it’s not got any leaks – sometimes those are not easily avoided.

    You’re in my thoughts and prayers as you face your procedure.

  6. Thanks for writing a separate post on your upcoming procedure. Now I know how to pray and I am! I love that you even have a theme song. lol. As you stated and know, God is in control! I am praying for peace, a successful procedure that happens only once, quick healing, and a sense of God’s presence.

    Isn’t it something that unplugging and plugging back in can sometimes take care of an appliance’s malfunction. That is often the only idea I have to fix something. And I am grateful, like you, that it does sometimes work.

    Hurray for time with your grand child and food brought in!

    Have a peaceful week, Barb.

  7. I love slow cooker meals too! I made a delicious beef stew in my crock pot last Sunday. So nice you were able to spend some time with your grandson. You will be in my prayers for your procedure. Have a good weekend.

  8. Besides the miseries with your household appliances your week was nice ! That’s nice that Timothy likes to stay with you ! Toby and I were alone for the first time !

  9. Appliances and electronics, great when working, frustrating when not. Glad it was not a great big expensive fix. Strange that they would do that. I can just see Timothy in my mind’s eye with the wet vac. πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

