What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2017

What's On Your Nightstand

The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Even though there is still nearly a week left in July, it’s the last Tuesday and therefore time to look over what we have been and will be reading.

Since last time I have completed:

Classics:

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes, reviewed here. I was glad to conquer this one.

The Strange Case of Dr. Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, reviewed here. Loved this – much food for thought.

Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand, reviewed here. This one will always hold a special place in my heart.

The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan, review coming soon. I enjoyed this suspenseful tale, one of the first “man on the run” stories, very much.

Nonfiction:

Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More  – Poet, Reformer, Abolitionist by Karen Swallow Prior, reviewed here. A remarkable woman: very good book.

Songs of a Housewife: Poems by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings (author of the beloved The Yearling), edited by Rodger L. Tarr, reviewed here. I loved much of this.

Finishing Our Course with Joy: Guidance from God for Engaging with Our Aging by J. I. Packer, reviewed here. Great advice.

Christian or Inspirational Fiction:

A Proper Pursuit by Lynn Austin, reviewed here. A young woman in the late 1800s goes in search of the mother who left the family and finds an assortment of various types of femininity in her grandmother and great aunts. Good.

Until We Reach Home by Lynn Austin, reviewed here. Three Swedish sisters immigrate to America in 1897, meet and overcome hardships, and look for a true home. Very good.

All She Ever Wanted by Lynn Austin, reviewed here. A woman in conflict with her teenage daughter takes her on a road trip where she discloses the dysfunctional past she had kept hidden plus learns things she never knew about her own mother and granddaughter. Good.

Now, that’s not as much as it looks like. Two of the books were just short of finished last time, so they belong more to June than July. I’ve been working through an audiobook of Don Quixote for weeks, and the other classics here were very short audiobooks (3-4 hours each).  And Finishing Our Course With Joy was fairly short as well.

You also may have noticed a Lynn Austin trend. 🙂 I have so many books in my Kindle app from various sales that sometimes it’s hard to scroll through and decide what to read next. I decided to choose an author and read all of her book that I had, and chose Lynn because I have enjoyed others of her books. It’s been interesting to read several books from one author in a row like that.

I’m currently reading:

The Death of Ivan Ilych by LeoTolstoy. Very nearly finished with this one. Very moving.

Unlimited by Davis Bunn. Edge of your seat goodness!

All Things New by Lynn Austin

Lessons I Learned From My Grandchildren by Delia Halverson. I am about ready to toss this one, but it’s so short I figure I may as well finish it. Weak theology in places, faulty in others. Disappointing and not recommended.

Up Next:

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate

Threads of Suspicion by Dee Henderson

Resurrection by Leo Tolstoy

Taking God At His Word: Why the Bible Is Knowable, Necessary, and Enough, and What That Means for You and Me by Kevin DeYoung

Each of the last few years I’ve been reading one book by Dickens that I have not read before. I was planning on The Pickwick Papers, but I am not terribly excited about that one. I may go with Hard Times or The Mystery of Edwin Drood instead. Have you read Pickwick?

Whew! I think that’s the longest Nightstand post I’ve ever done.

I am having a procedure next week – more on that tomorrow – and one thing I am looking forward to, besides getting it over with, is spending the recuperating time reading.

What are you reading?

9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2017

  1. I remember reading Don Quixote when I was in high school. Some interesting books here. I like to read several books by one author, one after the other. Got you in my prayers for your procedure next week.

  2. I’ve started to read Don Quixote more times than I can count and then finally called it quits after getting about halfway through in my last reading. I felt that the episodes were becoming repetitive (and that my attitude towards the book was becoming decidedly not good.) The thing is, I think I’d have really liked it, and roundly recommended it had it been 200 pages long instead of 900! Maybe listening to the audiobook helped with that.

    My energy returned just in time for our two vacations of the summer (we just returned from a trip to Yellowstone with my family and are gearing up for a trip to Colorado with Daniel’s family). So I’ve been busy with lots of packing and planning and tripping, but not much reading. I have done a little reading, thinking ahead for preschool and kindergarten for Tirzah Mae (time moves so fast, and I figure it’ll be easier to get good deals on curriculum if I’ve taken a look at it and gotten an idea of what I want before it’s crunch time.)

  3. I have had no time to sit and read. When I think I might be able to sit and get a few minutes in something comes up. I really enjoy Lynn Austin. Seems you are also on a Tolstoy kick too. 🙂
    Thank you for the Bunn title. Looking for new ones for Grandma! Have a great August!

  4. Whew — that is indeed quite a list! I’ll be praying for your procedure coming up, and am glad for some extra reading time for you. I’ve never heard of Lynn Austin. I’ll have to look her up!

  5. You’ve read so widely in July, Barbara. I always enjoy seeing your list of books and getting ideas to add to my own list. The J.I. Packer book sounds particularly good to me for this next phase of life. Praying that your procedure goes well next week! And that you get to enjoy bonus reading time. 🙂

  6. You really have been a busy reader this month! Good for you! I am missing my reading time a lot right now. There are only so many hours in a day. I’m looking forward to things slowing down…as if that actually will happen. Maybe it is my priorities that I need to rearrange. 🙂

  7. Davis Bunn always writes a great suspense! I am always amazed at the amount of non-fiction you read. I struggle with non-fiction as I mostly use reading as a way to relax and escape.

    • I can pick up biographies more easily than other non-fiction. I usually keep a non-fiction book with my Bible and devotional book and read in it a few minutes after devotions when I have time. My mind is more inclined to it then, plus I’m “digesting” small bits at a time. I don’t get through non-fiction as quickly as fiction – fiction has the advantage of “grabbing” you and pulling you into the story. But reading just a couple of pages or so most days gets me though quite a bit, even at a slower pace.

      On Wed, Jul 26, 2017 at 10:30 AM, Stray Thoughts wrote:

      >

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

