Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It has been a busy week! But a good one. Here are some of the best parts:

1. Jason’s birthday!

IMG_0017(1)

IMG_0010(1)

Mittu and Timothy made that amazing cake!

2. An outing. We celebrated Jason’s birthday early over the weekend so we’d have more time. He took his actual birthday off during the week, and he and Mittu took Timothy to a children’s art and science museum called The Muse, and invited me along. It was so fun to watch Timothy engage with various displays and participate in some of them with him. I don’t have any photos – just about the time I would get my phone camera out and read, the moment passed. Then we tried a new-to-us pizza place called Sergeant Pepperoni’s. It was packed, and with one server working as hard as she could, it took about 40 minutes to get our food, but it was good. More help came in while we were there, so maybe someone had called sick or something. Then it was home for naps. Small children’s schedules coordinate nicely with Grandma’s schedules that way. πŸ™‚ Timothy and I were both pretty wiped out by that point.

3. Lunch with Melanie at Red Lobster. Last time I was good and looked for something lighter and healthier – this time I indulged in my favorite popcorn shrimp. πŸ™‚ We enjoyed talking so much, the time passed so fast – I was shocked when I looked at the time and saw I needed to rush home before my mother-in-law’s caregiver needed to leave.

4. A day at home. Last week, for various reasons, I was out with errands I think every single day, even Saturday, which I try to keep free of them. This week, besides grocery shopping on Monday, I had some fun times out. But it was nice on Thursday to have a full day at home. I was contemplating going to the gym, but then my mother-in-law’s caregiver had to run out to take her daughter somewhere at the time I would have gone, so that took care of that for me. πŸ™‚

5. Mexican food. We got take-out from a new-to-us Mexican food place last Friday night, and even though we probably won’t use them again for various reasons, I enjoyed it. I grew up in southern Texas, where Mexican or “Tex-Mex” food was a regularity, and I crave it sometimes.

It’s been a scorcher this week, very hot days and no rain, so I have been exceptionally glad for air conditioning. And for good reading – I finished some excellent books in the last several days.

What are some highlights from your week?

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Happy birthday blessings to Jason. His birthday cake is beautiful.
    I love watching my grand daughter interact with her environment, too.
    I am glad you were able to finish some excellent books.
    When I am done commenting, I will check to see if you’ve written a review.
    It is lovely to have a day at home. I hope your weekend is one of refreshment.

  2. I don’t know, Barbara, I’m thinking toddlers and grandmas have the best schedules. Sounds like you all had a great time celebrating together and enjoying that very cool looking cake. Speaking of cool, air conditioning is wonderful, isn’t it?!

  3. Happy birthday to Jason! Sounds like a fun family outing to celebrate. I wish we had a Red Lobster in town, but then again it’s always nice to have a restaurant we look forward to visiting when we go visit a bigger city that we don’t have in our own.

  4. You always celebrate birthdays so nicely! πŸ™‚ It’s wonderful you are getting together with Melanie! You are both very sweet ladies! LOVE. LOVE. Mexican food! Hope you have a great weekend.

  5. You had a lovely week! Seeing that Jason turned 30 made me think of our son’s birthday this year. He turned 40 and found it sobering that he was probably just about middle aged. ~wink~

    I am glad that you were able to go to the children’s museum with his family. We’ve gone to one with our granddaughters when they were Timothy’s age and a little older. They are a lot of fun. When it comes to doing fun things like that I think that sometimes cameras are overrated. πŸ˜‰

    Glad you and Melanie were able to have lunch together. She is such a sweet lady.

    Hope you have a lovely weekend.

  6. I love the look of that birthday cake…YUMMY!! How fun to spend his day with his family and taking the little one someplace fun….MMMM…as i type this I can smell my youngest daughter’s vegan pizza in the oven….i love pizza but am kind of sick of it..we have had it alot the last couple of months…so tonight I’m just having an egg salad sandwich and some watermelon…VERY hot here….92!

    I love reading and I have also read a lot this week in the evenings cause it was too humid and hot to power walk! or so I told my self πŸ™‚

    YAY for food places that serve good food and yay for lunch dates! Have a restful weekend.

  7. I can imagine that Timothy had fun ! and apparently you too ! The “Red Lobster” brings back memories to me when in the 90th we stayed with my aunt in Madison and went to the Red Lobster ! So it still exists.

  8. Birthday blessings to Jason. Children are so much fun to be around. It’s nice that you got a chance to be around your grandchild (?). I love days at home. I would almost rather be home than anyplace else.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

