Happy Independence Day!

lettered pledge

(Photo is a free printable available here)

A Creed

Lord let me not in service lag.
Let me be worthy of our flag.
Let me remember when I’m tired,
The sons heroic who have died.

In freedom’s name and in my way,
Teach me to be as brave as they.
In all I am, in all I do,
Unto our flag I would be true.

For God and country let me stand,
Unstained of soul, clean of hand.
Teach me to serve and guard and love,
The starry flag that flies above.

~ Edgar Guest

As much as I love my country and am thankful for it and believe it is the best one on the planet, I also believe it is in need of much prayer. How to Pray For America has some good tips along those lines.

And Happy Independence Day (From a Brit?) is a really good article.

Hope you have a happy 4th! The past few years, one set of neighbors has hosted a neighborhood cookout on the 4th, where they grill burgers and ribs and everyone else brings everything else. But the hosts didn’t want to do that this year, so we’re having a family day grilling here. If it doesn’t rain, we’ll get out the wading pool for Timothy. I’m looking forward to a relaxing day!

Save

One thought on “Happy Independence Day!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

