Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Time just keeps marching on, and here we are at the end of June already. Though summer technically just started last week, I always think of it as June, July, and August, so now it feels like we’re 1/3 of the way through. Here are some highlights of the last week:

1. Mulch. Ever since Jim put up our fence last summer, we’ve been wanting to make some beds for planting along the fence line. He’s had the edging there for a bit, but it has either been rainy or too hot or too busy with other things to get any further with it. This last week he’s spent almost every evening working on it, and just having the mulch in it looks so much nicer. Next he is going to transplant some bushes from their odd locations into these planting areas, and then we get to decide what other plants we want to fill in with. Since the majority of our windows look out to the fenced area, the view makes a big difference.

2. Finishing projects and anticipating others. Got a big one finished this week, and I have the urge to work next on a craft project that has been in the back of my mind for a while now.

3. Finishing a couple of big books.One wasn’t so big in its number of pages, but it was one that took some time to process. And Don Quixote was just finished Thursday, which involved a whopping 36 hours of audio time. I hope to review it next week. And my next audiobook is less than three hours! I needed a short one after such a long one.

4. Time off from cooking, once again. Jason and Mittu made dinner last Friday, we got Chinese take-out Saturday, and Jason and Mittu got take-out from a favorite barbecue place Sunday. Nice!

5. A message from Timothy. I got an audio message on my phone from Timothy saying, “Grandma, I love you!” Mittu said he was going to ask me about coming over for lunch but forgot what he was going to say. But I’ll take the “I love you” any time! And lunch other get-togethers, too, of course.

Have a great weekend, and a happy 4th of July to those in the US!

Save

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Ah, those lists. So good to get things crossed off. I vote for Timothy geting a permanent spot on the faves.

    I remember slogging through some long audiobooks (like Dickenses), usually while working on long projects like pruning. So the next time I prune, I can almost hear the narrator’s voice in my ear. Hope you had a good one for those 36 hours!

  2. Congratulations on finishing Don Quixote! That’s quite an accomplishment. My husband is listening to the audio version of The Goldfinch from the library (and I’m reading the “real” book). It’s very long so I’m afraid his library renewal for the audio book will run out before he finishes it. He won’t be near as happy if he has to switch to the real book. ha.

  3. My reading lately has been devoted to more modern fiction 🙂 I salute you on finishing Don Quixote.
    And like Anne, I vote for Timothy to be a permanent, weekly part of FFF. He’s so sweet! (I got, “Meema, you’re old” from my ‘Timothy’. 🙂
    I vote for putting in blueberry bushes! They’re both beautiful and tasty!
    Happy Fourth of July weekend!

  4. That work in the garden must be really satisfying. Well done on your reading. I’ve tried audio books but often I find myself falling asleep and having to keep going over bits! lol Have a good weekend.

  5. I am new to audiobooks. Wow and congrats on finishing Don Quixote. Don Quixote has been on my list for decades. One reason it isn’t ticked off is because I wanted to read it in spanish. However, since my spanish isn’t that great, it just isn’t happening. I may have to switch plans.

    Hurray for being relieved of cooking duty. It is lovely living so close to family.

    I third the idea of a permanent spot for Timothy on your FFF.
    Hurray for finishing projects. What’s next on the list?

    Have a great weekend.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

