Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I usually start my FFF posts on Thursdays, but this week I was drawing a  blank. It wasn’t a bad week, but nothing really stood out at first for this week’s post. But, as always, once I start to think about and look for blessings in the week, I find them.

1. A quiet week. Just the fact that it was an uneventful week, spent mostly at home, was a blessing, especially after last week’s ER events.

2. Zaxby’s Grilled Cobb salad. My errand-running usually occurs later mornings, culminating in my bringing home something for lunch for Jesse and me. One of our occasional lunch places is Zaxby’s, and I love their chicken strips, fries, toast, and sauce. But I’ve been trying to make better heart-healthy choices lately, so I got their grilled Cobb salad. It was wonderful! I can’t wait to have it again. I’ve been trying to choose grilled instead of fried at restaurants, with mixed results, but this was so good. The calorie count, which they helpfully put on their drive-through menus, was still pretty high, but I have to believe the choice was still a better one with all the fresh veggies. I’m not usually one to have a salad for a meal – I tend to think of them as appetizers or side dishes, even with meat in them. But this lasted me until dinner.

3. Timothy’s “playground,” as he calls the set we got for him. It took Jim and Jesse, with help from Jason as he had time, a couple of Saturdays to put it together. Timothy was taking a nap when it was completed, and we couldn’t stay til he woke up, so his parents filmed his first reaction to it and sent the video to us. Priceless! When he climbed up to this little perch, he said he was “so high in the sky!” And then he wanted to FaceTime with us so we could watch him play on it.

IMG_0004(3)

4. Surprise visits. Sometimes when Jason, Mittu, and Timothy are out in the evenings, they ask if they can stop by to visit. I treasure living close enough to have that happen!

5. Naps. I don’t know why I seem to be unusually sleepy this week, but I’ve been grateful for naps in the daytime to give me enough energy to then get something else accomplished.

As a bonus, we found out that some of my family is driving down from up north this summer to visit two of my sisters in SC. We can’t stay overnight because of Jim’s mom’s care, but we’re making plans to at least meet halfway between here and there for lunch one day. There is even a possibility the rest of the family in TX might come – if they did, that would be the first time since my mom’s funeral 11 years ago that all six siblings were together, so I hope it works out!

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Those dimples are irresistible! Looks like Timothy will have fun with that play house for years to come. For different reasons, I have to avoid the fried option, too, and I have to agree with you that finding a grilled dish that isn’t dry is a Fave!

  2. Timmy looks exceptionally with his playset! The salad sounds wonderful! Perhaps a future lunch together? I’m glad that you having family coming. Nothing wrong with a quiet week. You’ve had a lot on your plate. Enjoy your naps! Have a great weekend, my friend.

  3. I’ve not been doing very much blog visiting or commenting this month while I’ve been on break, but on Fridays, I have to come and see what blessings you’ve had through the week. 🙂

    Barbara, I am so glad that your family lives close enough that Timothy and his parents can come by. Our son lives 15 hours away and our daughter 5 hours away. I’m so glad that you appreciate having them close by.

    I loved hearing and seeing how excited Timothy was when he saw his playground. The fact that he wanted to Facetime with you in order to show you how much he likes it speaks of how much he loves you and your husband. Reading your posts about him remind me of when our grandson was Timothy’s age. Just last week we had the privilege of watching him graduate second in his class out of 273 students at his high school in DE. In a blink of an eye, they are all grown up. It blesses me to see you enjoying every stage that Timothy goes through.

    How exciting about your family coming your way and that you may get to spend some time with some of them. 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend, my friend.

  4. What a happy boy Timothy is! It’s fun to share his enthusiasm!

    I hope you will be able to see all your siblings! That would be a really special event.

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Sometimes I also cannot initially think of any FFF’s. Then I start to dig and there really are things to be grateful for. Taking naps after your hectic week last week is probably doing you good.. 🙂

    My, Timothy is getting so big. I love Facetime. It is precious that he wanted to share his newest toy with you.
    I write about salads this past week, too. I am eating more of them because my body does so much better when I do. I’ve heard about a grilled cob, but I’ve never had one. Is the chicken grilled or is the lettuce grilled or both?

    Have a great weekend.

  6. Timothy looks so happy! Nothing like a grand child’s smile. Good that you can nap. I use to but it isn’t easy. Now we have a puppy that wakes up early and wants attention! I see all my grands at church every Sunday and now that summer is here, so are they! Happy Sunday!

  7. oh gosh if i took a nap after work, i would be up all night long! but glad you are getting some rest. my husband napped often the first few months after his heart issue.

    I gave up fried foods ( other than sweet potato fries but here in NYS we have a law that says restaurants have to use the zero trans fat oils…something like that) and i dont miss them. we grill a LOT of our foods now or roast them ( veggies) and i love it. keep up the good work!!

    timothy is just so cute!!

    enjoy every moment you have with him.

  8. Oh how excited Timothy looks with his playground. So nice that he and his parents live so close that they can just pop on by. That is really a blessing. I love cobb salads but they can be full of calories with all the eggs, cheese, bacon etc and usually a creamy dressing. But they are so delicious I figure once in a while is alright to treat myself.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

