Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This week started off with a bang, but thankfully things seem back to normal now. Here are some of my favorite parts:

1. Feeling better after being in the ER last weekend with atrial fibrillation.

2. A good visit with the cardiologist. The last time I had seen him, more than a year ago, I felt like I really wasn’t given as much information as I needed to know how to proceed. I saw him for a follow-up visit after being in the ER and brought my list of questions and felt like we had a good discussion. Now I need to decide whether to treat it surgically or medicinally – there are risks either way, so there’s much to think and pray about.

3. False alarms. While at the doctor’s office, the building was evacuated due to a fire alarm. Thankfully we were only out maybe 15 minutes before we received an all-clear signal and were allowed to go back in. God gave me peace in a situation where I would probably normally have been frazzled and irritated, and even though the event was no fun, it’s much better that it was a small situation easily contained rather than a major fire.

4. Lunch with Melanie at Red Lobster. Normally there I have the popcorn shrimp (breaded and fried), but in an effort to be a little more heart-healthy, I got the grilled shrimp and tilapia – first time I had ever tried tilapia. It was quite good, and I had such an enjoyable time talking with Melanie.

5. Riced cauliflower. I had seen interesting recipes using this on Pinterest and was glad to find some already riced (processed very small, like rice grains) in the freezer section of the store. I tried it straight from the freezer in place of rice for a stir-fry, along with some leftover chicken and grated vegetables, and really liked it. I’m eager to explore new ways to use it.

Bonus: Timothy discovered my make-up mirror one day, with one side normal and the other side magnified. He was so tickled, saying “little Timothy” and then turning it over and saying “BIG Timothy” and laughing. Then when I looked over his shoulder into the mirror, he laughed at “BIG Grandma.” He even held up a special rock he had found in front of it, saying, “Little rock…BIG rock” and laughing.

And my lovely daughter-in-law did make dinner a couple of times. 🙂

Happy Friday!

Save

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh, what a scare! I am glad you are feeling better and that yo had a good talk with the cardiologist. I put this concern on my prayer list (that God would give you clear guidance).

    Grand kiddos are the BEST! What a FUN time with Timothy and the mirror. I can just hear the laughs.

    Have GREAT week, Barbara.

  2. I wished we could all be as entertained with small things like Timothy! So cute. Yes, I enjoyed our lunch at Red Lobster too. Can’t wait to do it again. I’ve not made riced cauliflower but I like to boil it and mash it and add butter like mashed potatoes. So glad you are feeling better. I’m praying that God will guide you on whatever decision you make and that you have peace.

  3. Adorable about Timothy.

    You’re in my thoughts and prayers. A-fib is worth your time and prayers to get the right treatment for it.

  4. Nothing like piling on at the doctor’s office! Glad you were able to stay calm throughout. I need to read your previous post — so good to know you are okay and have some options to consider. Praying for those decisions, Barbara, and that they are suitable for you in every way.

    As for riced cauliflower — I think they do a pretty good job substituting for rice in a few occasions, especially when you have a lot of other textures and flavors going on. I mean, you’re never going to mistake them for rice, but it’s a nice change-up.

    DARLING Timothy!

  5. oh dear! i am glad you are ok..praise God! I do not know what atrial fibrillation is but my husband had a heart attack 2 years ago and it was downright scary. he is on some meds but needs to be much better about working out and he eats well when i cook but he is still drawn to icky fast food chains. ugh! glad you tried the tilapia…we like it grilled and salmon is even better for you! we no longr

  6. Sorry that you had heart troubles ! You mentioned the “Red Lobster” that brought back memories to me we used to go with my aunt and uncle in Madison to the Red Lobster but that was in the 90th ! So it still exists !

  7. I’m glad your doctor was able to give you more information this time. It is frustrating when they allow enough time to get your questions properly answered. The fried popcorn shrimp at Red Lobster is one of my favorites; good for you in trading it in for healthier choices. That’s never easy for me to do.

  8. ER visits are never ‘fun’ but they are sometimes what we need. I’m glad yours went as well as it did. I too will pray for you to have clear guidance on how to proceed with treatment.
    I like riced cauliflower although the Professor doesn’t. But I agree with Anne, it just isn’t rice. If you’re not expecting it to be an exact substitute, it’s delicious.

  9. I’m really sorry to hear that you were hospitalized for the A fib last weekend. It surely must have been scary, but glad that you felt when you saw your doctor for the follow up this week that you had a good discussion and came away with more information. Glad that you and Melanie had a good lunch at Red Lobster. I’m proud of you for having the grilled shrimp and tilapia in place of fried. Some days I can do that…other it is more of a battle for me. Loved the sweet Timothy story…don’t you just love to find out those things which make our little ones laugh? SO fun! And that precious daughter-in-law of yours is such a blessing with her cooking and looking out after you with meals. 🙂

  10. Glad to hear you are feeling better than last week. Praying that you and your doctors make the best possible decision moving forward with your care. Now you have me wanting to try that riced cauliflower. I’ve had no desire so far but maybe I’ll actually give it a try.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

