Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Wow, the first week of June already! I always think of June 1 as the beginning of summer, thought technically it’s not until June 21. With my kids being older, summer doesn’t bring the feel of a break like it used to – and actually Jesse is taking summer classes this year to go back to work on his Bachelor’s degree, so it feels even less like a break. But I am enjoying keeping cool in the AC! Here are a few highlights of the last week:

1. A three-day weekend. We spent most of Memorial Day at Jason and Mittu’s house. They grilled burgers, sausage, corn on the cob, and carrots. So good! Rain threatened, but we only had a little sprinkle, and that was while we were eating under the umbrella, so it worked out fine. Jim and Jesse spent most of the day working on an outdoor play set we had bought for Timothy’s birthday several weeks ago – the kind of thing with swings, a slide, a little fort-like enclosure, etc. The thing had tons of pieces and maybe 20 bags of different kinds of screws and nuts and bolts. They had to do a lot of drilling of holes for those things. They ended up not being able to complete it and were pretty done in by the end of the day, but it shouldn’t take too long to finish it up this weekend. I’m excited to see how Timothy reacts – I don’t think he had the big picture of what it’s going to be yet. All in all it was a good day.

2. Good weather. We had a LOT of thunderstorms forecast for the week, but ended up with not much in our area, though some of the city did have more and some were without power. Ours blinked off a few times but thankfully came back on in about half a minute.

3. Breaks from cooking. Besides Memorial Day, Jesse and I got take-out from Red Lobster one evening when Jim was tied up at work, Jason and Mittu brought one meal over and made one here, and we got Asian take-out Saturday night.

4. Haircut. Nothing new – I can’t think of what new to do to it. 🙂 But it always feels good to get it done. My hair gets less cooperative and more limp the longer it gets, so usually by the time I get it cut, I’m pretty frustrated with it and relieved to get it done. I went a little shorter than usual this time, just so the cut will last me a little longer. 🙂

5. Trimming plants and bushes. My rose bushes were overgrown and I have been wanting to get at them for a while now, and finally did that Thursday. They usually bloom several times a summer with some cutting back here and there. Now I just need to figure out what’s eating them and what to do about it – lots of little holes in the leaves. I also “deadheaded” some other plants as well. Felt good to get this done as well.

Hope you had a good week as well!

Save

6 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I too like to get my hair cut a little shorter than I actually like it – for the same reason as you do. The longer the haircut lasts, the better!! Fooling with hair is such a pain!!

  2. I know what you mean about the hair getting to a certain point. Mine is like that too and it seems like happens overnight. I can just imagine how excited Timothy is going to be! Standing ovations for the guys figuring out the construction of that thing. I love how Mittu brings meals over so often and you share so many meals with them. What a special blessing that is!

  3. I get the same way about my hair….i’m finding that i need to color it every 5 weeks!! ARGH! and of course I get it cut then too…actually just a trim lately as i have really liked this shorter cropped asymmetrical style 🙂

    HOW FUN to get to buy little T a playset and see it going up. And your BBQ sounds yummy..we love grilled corn on the cob! It is not hot enough yet for AC here in eastern NY although we did have those 2 flukey days in May when it reached 94!! This week has been sunny with some days cloudy and one evening we had a pop up thunderstorm where the temp dropped 15 degrees and we had HAIL! it only lasted 20 min but it was enough for me!!

    Enjoy your weekend.

  4. I hope you take lots of photos of Timothy on his new play set when it’s done! I too got a hair cut this week – too short but then I always say that. I’m glad you had some breaks from cooking. I’m spoiled with my DIL cooking all the time. She is such a good cook and so I do the dishes. Great trade, I think!

  5. It sounds like a good week! You had several breaks from cooking and a fun time with Timothy on Monday. Also, I’m glad you weren’t affected by the thunderstorms.
    Looking forward to seeing some photos of your roses as they bloom this summer.

  6. It’s better when they only announce bad weather and then the sun is shining ! With haircuts it’s sometimes difficult, I had short hair, but then another girl cut my heir in an other style and even shorter, I thought nothing would be left on my head, but at the end I liked it !

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

