What’s On Your Nightstand: May 2017

What's On Your Nightstand

The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Another month nearly done! And it’s time for another Nightstand post so I can assess what I have been reading plus plan for the next few books in the lineup.

Since last time I have completed:

When Others Shuddered: Eight Women Who Refused to Give Up by Jamie Janosz, reviewed here.

Eight Women of Faith by Michael A. G. Haykin, reviewed here.

A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay, reviewed here. An inherent “fixer” moves to Italy with her new husband after a whirlwind romance and discovers some things aren’t hers to fix. Enjoyed very much.

Waiting for Peter by Elizabeth Musser, reviewed here. Heartwarming dog story.

Love of the Summerfields by Nancy Moser, reviewed here. Fiction from the 1880s English manor house as well as the village. Very good.

Old Yeller by Fred Gipson, reviewed here. Excellent.

Lavender and Old Lace by Myrtle Reed, reviewed here.

The dog stories and biographical collections weren’t long, so it looks like I read more than I did. :).

If the Shoe Fits: A Contemporary Fairy Tale by Sandra D. Bricker and A Place of Quiet Rest by Nancy Leigh DeMoss were just finished last time but not reviewed yet. The review for If the Shoe Fits is here; A Place of Quiet Rest is here.

I’m currently reading:

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. It’s slow-going, but I am persevering.

The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser

No Little Women: Equipping All Women in the Household of God by Aimee Byrd

Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More by Karen Swallow Prior and Eric Metaxas

Songs of a Housewife: Poems by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, edited by Rodger L. Tarr

Up Next:

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

 Finishing Our Course with Joy: Guidance from God for Engaging with Our Aging by J. I. Packer

The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate

That’s it for this time. Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: May 2017

  1. I can imagine Don Quixote would be slow-going! That’s a classic I’ve never even seriously thought about reading; I’ll enjoy hearing your review. On the Emily Price book — I love the line about a fixer discovering that some things aren’t hers to fix. A good reminder to all of us!

  2. You always read such interesting and uplifting things! I love it. I read Don Quixote when I was in high school for my Spanish class. It was a huge undertaking, but a classic I’ve always been glad that I read. Have a great week!

  3. It’s funny that both the women books chose “Eight Women” for the number. I read both your reviews when you published them so I appreciate knowing which book to reach for first. I still haven’t read Don Quixote but just can’t muster up the perseverance for it yet. Maybe I’ll find an abridged version someday and count that. 🙂

  4. I enjoyed reading ‘When Others Shuddered’ as well. I just finished ‘No Little Women’ and will be posting about it soon. I loved ‘Fierce Convictions,’ great biography. I hadn’t heard of Hannah More before I’d read it. I’ve enjoyed Nancy Moser’s books on women in history, will have to check out some of her others.

  5. I could not persevere through Don Quixote… ugh! It was more than I could take. I got about 1/3 of the way through and chucked it. LOL!
    Found a few here that I would like and I know my Grandmother would love! Thanks Barbara!

  6. I enjoyed your post! I used to link to this and got lazy with my reading. I need to do it again. I read Don Quixote when I was in high school. I think it was for a book report which in those days was not my favorite thing. I don’t know if I could get through it today.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

