Friday’s Fave Five

Itโ€™s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This week, thankfully, had no major off days or bad days as the last couple of weeks have had. In fact, all around it has been a pretty good week. Here are the best parts:

1. Lunch with Melanie, my blog friend who moved to TN and became a real-life friend. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  We met at Cracker Barrel this time. The food was wonderful and the fellowship even better. Before we moved here, I used to get together with friends for lunch pretty often, and haven’t really done that here. I didn’t realize how much I missed and needed it until these last couple of lunches with Melanie. We’re already planning our next excursion. ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Ladies Brunch at our church. The theme was “Oaks of Righteousness” from Isaiah 61:3: “To grant those who mourn in Zion, giving them a garland instead of ashes,
The oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a spirit of fainting. So they will be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified” (NASB). The decorations, speaker, food, and fellowship were all a blessing. I’m borrowing a couple of photos from their Facebook page since I didn’t think to take any.

18620002_10158710952550506_1611488598220403271_n

18556160_10158710952545506_493943197065415711_n

I thought the centerpieces were especially pretty. The wood came from the church property and the flowers were donated by a local florist.

For our activity/favor, we got to choose three different herbs to plant in little containers painted in chalk paint so we could write the name of the plant on them. I’ve got mine on the windowsill right now until I decide where to put them: basil, chives, and rosemary. I have never worked with fresh herbs before, so this will be a learning experience.

IMG_0231

3. A surprise lunch visit. Mittu texted me Wednesday to ask if she, Jason, and Timothy could bring Chick-Fil-A over for lunch and visit for a while. Sure!

4. Days at home. I consider running errands a ministry to my family, or part of my job in the distribution of necessary tasks involved in having a home and family. If I can get things done in the day time, then my husband doesn’t have to spend time doing them after long days at work, and I’m available if we do anything on the weekend instead of having to run around. And it’s nice to get out of the house some. ๐Ÿ™‚ But some weeks, it seems like I am out almost every morning, and then I feel overloaded and don’t get things done at home. Except for a quick run to the drugstore one day, somehow this week I made it to Thursday before needing to make a major grocery expedition. It felt marvelous! And I don’t think I’ll need to run any other errands this week.

5. A mini closet project. Part of that time at home allowed for something I had been itching to do for a while now. My whole closet didn’t need cleaning or organizing, but I had some clutter in there to take care of. When I buy something online or in town, I keep the packaging for a while in case I need to return anything, so I had that kind of stuff accumulating for months, plus a wedding present to package. I had taken the heaviest of my winter things out earlier, but took the rest out at this time and got rid of one dress that was in no condition to wear again. I often vacuum the walk-in part of the closet, but this time I vacuumed under all the clothes, straightened the shoes, dusted the ones I hadn’t worn in a while. It felt good to get all that done.

Bonus: We had thunderstorms in the forecast for much of this week, but thankfully didn’t get any. We had some heavy rain one day and a bit more scattered throughout the week, with some overcast skies, but that was it. Thunderstorms always make me a little nervous about falling trees and power outages, so I was very happy not to have any. ๐Ÿ™‚ We have more in the forecast for next week, so we’ll see how it goes.

Have a great Friday!

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. A much more relaxed frame of mind this week, then. Wonderful. I love that your DIL plans these little pop-in-with-food visits. So sweet and builds great connections between you all.

    I’ve been rueing the last several purchases where I’ve been too quick to remove all tags and stickers of items purchased. Sometimes, that not-accumulating-things attitude bites me. Glad you got to tidy up an area that now has your organizing touch.

  2. If you can, plant the rosemary in your yard eventually. We did that years ago with a small plant, and I wish we’d realized how big it would get so we could have planted it somewhere else. it is now bigger than the bushes in our front planting beds. It has been a blessing to us-fresh rosemary whenever we want it. It is also a way to connect with the neighbors-we’ll never be able to use all of the rosemary, so our neighbors are welcome to come get some whenever they want it. A nice bonus is the tiny purple flowers it produces from time to time.

  3. We sure did skirt the nasty weather here! I love it when God knits hearts together and I am so glad that He brought us together. Have a blessed day, my friend.

  4. I have grown chives before and happen to think they are delicious. An easy way to use the fresh ones is just to chop some into small pieces and mix with sour cream for a topping for baked potatoes or use as a chip dip.

  5. We’ve had quite a bit of rain lately, too. We did a study years ago called the “Oaks of Righteousness”. You get together looks lovely. I really need to start making plans with friends. I miss spending time them.

    Colletta

  6. Oaks of Righteousness–I like that theme. It all looks lovely.
    You truly have the sweetest daughter in law! How fun to have that spontaneous lunch.
    And hurray for missing the thunderstorms. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. oh i love cooking with fresh herbs and am thinking of growing basil again in a deck container. im getting a late start with that and flowers this spring…its been a cooler rainy one here this year in eastern NY. the lunches and brunches sound wonderful! when i was a stay at hime mom a few friends and i would do lunch with our wee ones,

    I hooe you are enjoying the long weekend!

  8. Looks and sounds like a great ladies meeting that you had. I kind of really miss those. I love to use fresh herbs. One of my favorites is thai basil. It’s kind of lemony. So nice to be able to lunch with a friend on a regular basis.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

