Recent Cards

It has been a while since I’ve shared with you some cards I have made, so I thought I’d catch up. πŸ™‚

This was for Mittu’s birthday. She likes purple and lavender, so I tried to incorporate those.

IMG_0087

This was for Timothy’s birthday. He is very much into anything on wheels right now, especially construction vehicles.

IMG_0140

Though I have been driving for decades, somehow I got the traffic light upside down…but when I noticed it, I didn’t want to try to peel it off and tear the paper underneath. I don’t think he noticed. πŸ™‚

This card is the only one I have made on more than one occasion (only with different colors of paper), the occasion being a bridal shower. Since the recipients were in different states and didn’t know each other, I didn’t have to worry about them comparing notes. πŸ™‚

IMG_0123

I got the idea from Pinterest, and the dress part of the card there took up more space and the top and bottom of the dress flared out more. But both the girls I was making this for are very slim, so I slimmed down the dress here. I ran white card stock through my Cuttlebug to get the embossed pattern on the dress. I printed off the label on the computer and used two different sized punches for it. If you turn the punch upside-down, you can position a phrase in the opening, though it is a little tricky to get it to stay centered and still while you punch the design.

Paper punch

I don’t have a steady hand for cutting, so punches help a lot. (Punches can be expensive, but craft stores often have them on sale 40-50% off, and with gift cards I’ve collected a good many.)

The next three were for Mother’s Day.

This one was for a friend, someone I consider a second mother:

IMG_0209

This was for Jim’s mom, who likes yellow:

IMG_0212

Even though I don’t care for yellow myself, this ended up being one of my favorite cards I’ve made.

Up til now, I’ve made the inside sentiment of the cards on the computer, printed them out, and cut them out, and glued them in, but I felt that came across a little tacky and made it look home-made in a negative rather than positive sense. I don’t do lettering or even write well, so I didn’t want to do anything by hand. I could run cards through the computer. But for now I decided to try embellishing the inside as well as the outside.

IMG_0213

This was for Mittu’s Mother’s Day.

IMG_0219

Sorry about the shadows! This was the only one I’ve used the Cricut on lately. If I had it to do over, I’d use the lighter color as the floral frame and the medium color as the background. But I didn’t think of that til a few hours after it was done. πŸ™‚ I didn’t realize at first that the little flowers look like little faces:

IMG_0218

I have a Cards and Paper-crafts board on Pinterest where I go for ideas and inspiration. Sometimes, as with the bridal shower card, I’ll have a specific idea in mind before I start. Other times, like with the rest of these, I’ll look through the papers and embellishments I have in the colors or theme I want to use, and then ideas of how to put them together will arise. Sometimes I’ll scroll through the Cricut Design Space online either at their ready-to-make cards, or, as with the last card, I’ll search there for specific items, like flowers or sayings, and then put them together.

At any rate, this is a creative outlet I enjoy, and I wanted to share it with you.

5 thoughts on “Recent Cards

  1. I ALWAYS enjoy it when you share pictures of your cards. They are treasures in themselves! You do beautiful work, Barbara!

  2. I’m so impressed! Homemade cards are so much prettier than store bought ones! I would have a hard time choosing a favorite, but I really LOVED your mother-in-law’s daisy one, the birthday card for Timothy, and the lovely one for the bridal shower. Thank you for sharing!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

