Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Thursday morning as I was thinking about what I might include in this week’s FFF, I thought, “Well, I don’t know. It’s been a pretty bad week.” And then I had to correct myself, as it was really only one bad day, and that wasn’t even the whole day. So I am thankful for the FFF, because otherwise I would have let that one day shade all the rest.

1. My mother-in-law’s regular caregiver. Most of you know we have someone from a health-care agency in our home a few hours a day to take care of my mother-in-law so I can run errands, make and go to appointments, or just have a break. Our regular helper is wonderful – the best we’ve had either at home or in any facility. She needed a day off this week, so the agency sent a substitute. We’ve had this substitute before, and while she was not our favorite, we figured she could handle the basics well enough. But she was the source of my Very Bad Day this week. She won’t be coming back. And she made me appreciate our regular person even more. It was so nice, the day she came back, to be able to relax and do whatever I needed to do, knowing that Jim’s mom was in good hands.

2. Pool time with Timothy. The little wading pool we had for him is cracked and too small now, so his parents brought theirs over. It was fun to get the little pool toys out again and to show him a couple of new ones I had gotten. I may be a grandma, but I still get excited about little wind-up animals that “swim” in the water. πŸ™‚

3. Pleasant evenings. Both during the “pool night” and one other evening when I was refilling bird feeders and watering plants, it was so pleasant outside. Just the right temperatures, little humidity, and a little breeze.

4. Time off from cooking. I know I say this frequently – but it’s a favorite whenever it happens. πŸ™‚ Jason and Mittu brought barbecue from a favorite place one evening last weekend, and Jim and I brought McAlister’s Deli home for Sunday dinner since Jesse had plans with friends. Then Mittu brought dinner over for the “pool night.”

5. My husband’s thoughtfulness. He had to leave early one morning to go out of town. He usually makes his mom’s breakfast, but I would need to that morning. But he set everything out, crushed her pills (that always takes me a long time), measured out her coffee, and got as much ready as he could ahead of time. And then he even got the bathroom set up for her shower (towels on the floor under the ramp, shower curtain tucked out of the way, etc.). He’s a keeper. πŸ™‚

Happy Friday!

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. One of the highlights of my Friday is coming here to read about your FFF, Barbara. I am so sorry about that one part of a day that was bad for you due to the caregiver for that day. I understand what you mean because of a few things we went through with people coming in for my father-in-law’s caregiving.

    Pool time with Timothy…and fun water toys, too! Aren’t grandchildren just so wonderful!
    I was also pleased to read about the times you did not have to cook a meal. You have such a thoughtful family.

    Your husband was so sweet to do as much ahead of time as he could for you since you were going to need to take care of his mother’s breakfast and morning routoine. These husbands can be so thoughtful!

  2. You’re right — this regular posting *is* a great way to see the positives in your week! I always enjoy your outlook. I’m sorry about the Very Bad Day — but happy that you’re on track to not have those anymore (at least not from this particular source). I totally understand the joy of an evening without cooking!

  3. this is why i love doing the FFF… because even with less than ideal caregivers, and special needs children who seem to be taking five steps backwards vs making progress ( my bad day) we can always find SOMETHING to be thankful for. God is good all the time and all the time God is good!!

    pool night sounds fun and yay for people making dinner!

    have a wonderful Mothers day!!

  4. That must be a burden to take care of your MIL but if there is no other solution it is good to have a nice caretaker. My grandson has to take special swimming courses, that means swimming fully dressed with shoes and get a certificate ! All children from 4 years on have to do that (he is 6 now) in Amsterdam, because there are so many canals, and everybody has to be able to swim dressed, in case you fall in the water ! I imagine that this is not so easy, I swim like an old grandma (what I am now) and hate water in my face !

  5. I’m so sorry for your bad day. In your situation, a good, reliable caregiver is essential. I’m glad it was only one day. What fun it must be to watch Timothy in his pool! So glad you had some meals in to save you from cooking. Yes, your husband is certainly a keeper! Happy Mother’s Day,, my friend.

  6. I love your opening paragraph, not that you had a bad day but that FFF was a reminder it was just one day and not the whole week. And even that bad thing helped you to appreciate something even more. I always enjoy days off cooking too so I totally get that making your list! And pool time is always fun. Wind up swim toys are the best!! πŸ˜€ Happy Mother’s Day!

  7. You have given us all a great reminder–a part of a day doesn’t make the whole day bad or the whole week bad. I appreciate FFF so much because it helps me focus on what went right on the bad days (like you now know not to have someone back in the house).
    As always, I enjoy reading how wonderful your son and daughter in law are. They are both keepers, too!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

