Friday’s Fave Five

Itโ€™s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

The first FFF of April! It’s been a nice, springy week though a little colder today than normal. Here are some of the best parts of the last week.

1. A reprieve of sorts. I had a doctor’s appointment this week that I was dreading. I’m “pre-diabetic” and am supposed to be taking measures to try to avoid becoming fully diabetic. But between a broken toe, illness, and busyness precluding going to the gym much and extra goodies at Christmas and Valentine’s, I was afraid I had fallen from the progress I had made at the last visit, and I braced myself for a good scolding. But thankfully everything was “stable” – still needs work, but not any worse than last time – and I am getting myself back on track.

2. First grilled meal of the season. My husband ran some errands Saturday afternoon and unexpectedly came back with supplies to grill hamburgers for Sunday. Yum!

3. A weekend off from cooking. Jason and Mittu brought pizza over Friday, I asked for McAlister’s takeout on Saturday, and then Jim grilled on Sunday. Even though there was some other food prep involved with the grilled meal, it was nice to have the main course taken care of.

4. Another reprieve. We had some strong storms in the area Wednesday, but thankfully no hail or power outages or broken tree branches. “Til the Storm Passes By” is not a favorite song, per se, but it does come to mind at times like that.

5. A little boy’s affection. I’ve mentioned before that my little grandson is pretty busy and doesn’t always like to be scooped up for a hug or a snuggle like he did when he was a baby. So it’s special when he initiates something affectionate.

Some of these have appeared on previous FFFs, but it’s ok to be thankful for something more than once. ๐Ÿ™‚

The sun is out and the birds are singing – looking forward to a great day! Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’m glad you’re keeping the diabetes at bay. I’m sure it’s not easy having to modify your diet and try and do all the other stuff that’s recommended. I became a grandmother last week but our grandson was very early so I won’t be getting any cuddles just yet. Being patient will be hard.

  2. Nothing like the relief of a dreaded meeting that turns out okay. And your doctor must know you’re working hard to get back on track. Hurray for other reprieves from the storm and from cooking ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Grilled burgers have made the Faves this week ๐Ÿ˜‰ And hearing about yours makes me want to break out the grill. I’ve got a charcoal one which makes for great food, but a pain to get going.

  3. You had some very nice blessings this week, Barbara. I’m really glad to know that your pre-diabetic status remained stable. My PCP is a type 1 diabetic, so he carefully watches over his patients. I know he will be glad when I go back next month and he sees that there is a weight loss. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love it that you didn’t have much cooking to do over the weekend. That always blesses me. ๐Ÿ™‚ And dear sweet Timothy…how special that he is beginning to iniate hugs, etc. I know how that warms your heart. Have a great weekend!

  4. Good for you for holding steady, Barbara. You’ve had a lot going on. I have a doctor appointment next week and I’m sure I’ll get scolded for a thing or two:( We have yet to get the grill fired up, but this weekend might be a good time to do it.

  5. nice list of faves. glad you are holding steady regarding the diabetes. my aunt has that and has to drastically reduce her refined sugar intake as well as begin to exercise. hard for her as she has never been one to work out!!

    how fun to get in some cuddletime with your grandson, and how thoughtful regarding the meals. i hope you have a relaxing weekend ddoingmthe things you love.

  6. Grandchild cuddles are a treasure and a blessing, for sure.
    It’s always a relief to get good news that things are holding ‘steady’. I hope you’ll be able to be ‘back on track’ soon.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

