What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2017

What's On Your Nightstand

The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Usually I have my Nightstand post prepared ahead of time, but the last Tuesday of the month snuck up on me! So here goes:

Since last time I have completed:

How to Read the Bible For All Its Worth by Gordon D. Fee and Douglas Stuart, reviewed here. Its main strength was bringing out the particulars of studying the different genres in Scripture. Good.

Traces of Guilt by Dee Henderson, reviewed here. A task force studying cold cases begins work in a small town with two heartbreaking cases. The suspense is in the puzzle-solving of examining leads and finding connections. I always enjoy Dee.

The Ringmaster’s Wife by Kristy Cambron, reviewed here, traces the path of two women on different trajectories who end up a part of the Ringling Brothers circus family. One was a real person, one was fictional. An enjoyable read.

Uncle Tom or New Negro?: African Americans Reflect on Booker T. Washington and UP FROM SLAVERY 100 Years Later edited by Rebecca Carroll, reviewed here. I stumbled across this while looking for Washington’s Up From Slavery. This book contains that text as well as commentary from 20 modern-day African Americans on Washington and his legacy. I had no idea until seeing this book that there was any controversy about him. Quite an enlightening read.

I’m currently reading:

Spiritual Mothering: The Titus 2 Design for Women Mentoring Women by Susan Hunt

A Place of Quiet Rest by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

When Others Shuddered: Eight Women Who Refused to Give Up by Jamie Janosz

Middlemarch by George Eliot

Snapshot by Lis Wiehl

Up Next:

The Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay

Waiting for Peter by Elizabeth Musser.

Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More by Karen Swallow Prior and Eric Metaxas

Eight Women of Faith by Michael A. G. Haykin

Or any of a number of choices from my reading plans for the year.

I think that about does it for now. What are you reading?

8 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2017

  1. What are you thinking of Middlemarch so far? I read it a few years ago. Now, the main thing that sticks with me from it is just how l-o-n-g it took to get to various points. And, the realization that our attention spans are so much shorter now. I did enjoy it overall — it just had a very leisurely pace. Our pastor recommended “How to Read the Bible” and I think I read it, years ago.

    • Yes, it’s quite long – over 30 hours of an audiobook. I find I don’t mind the longer classics in audiobook form, partly because I am usually accomplishing something else while listening (driving, getting dressed, etc.). It’s enjoyable now that I have gotten familiar and interested in the characters.

  2. Hello Barbara. I am currently reading The Broken Way by Ann Voskamp and The Art of Homemaking by Edith Schaeffer. I am looking forward to reading your review on Spiritual Mothering. It sounds really good.

  3. Spiritual Mothering and A Place of Quiet Rest are books that I really enjoyed. And of course Middlemarch! I only read it last year. I feel slightly untethered this year with no reading challenges, but it’s freeing at the same time. I’ll debate toward the end of the year whether I’ll sign up again for reading plans.

  4. The Booker T. Washington book sounds really interesting- I didn’t know he was controversial either- I am listening to a Man Called Ove, and reading the 4th installment of a mystery series, by Louise Penny. I like being in some reading groups or following lists for good recommendations and some accountability to keep my pace up.

  5. I read/listened to Middlemarch recently (3x through) for book club. During the discussion I realized how much I had gotten from the narrator’s comments since I didn’t have to follow the story so closely. It was quite interesting.

    I keep telling myself to check out the Katherine Reay book and keep forgetting. I must rectify that.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

