Friday’s Fave Fives

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been kind of a crazy week. I’m happy to pause here at the end of it and look for the blessings large and small along the way.

1. A clear calendar. The past few weeks have been full of good things (birthdays, outings) and a few not-so-fun things (dentist appointments), but it felt good to face this week with nothing “extra” on the calendar. Turned out to be a good thing in many ways, as some extra things did come up.

2. Dodging a bullet. My husband had a medical issue one day this week that I thought could possibly mean emergency surgery. Thankfully that was not the case. The doctor adjusted some medicine and he may have to have a much smaller procedure done in the office in a few weeks.

3. A son who helps out and runs errands cheerfully. Jesse was out picking up a prescription for his dad while I was making dinner. When I opened one of the essential ingredients for dinner, it was spoiled, so I called Jesse to see if he was close to the store or already near home. He was right at the light in front of the store, but the wrong lane, so he drove to where he could turn around and then got the needed item for me without complaint.

4. Matchstick carrots. I had to buy some a while back for a particular recipe and had quite a few left over. I discovered they work great in salads and soup and casseroles, so I keep them on hand now.

5. Veggie chips. I had some at Jason and Mittu’s house and enjoyed them, so they brought me a bag of them next time they came over. I know they’re not as healthy as eating actual vegetables, but they’re good! 🙂

I’m thankful we were spared the snow in the forecast. Here in the South, more than a dusting of snow causes traffic problems, which in turn means some of my mother-in-law’s helpers can’t come in, so I was very glad to be spared that. I am so ready for spring!

Happy Friday!

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Fives

  1. It is a REAL blessing when our teens help out and extra blessing when they do it without complaints.

    I hope and pray your husband’s medical issue is resolved soon!

    I love the matchstick carrots,,,i just used some last night in our veggie tacos!! and i love them ofr salads as you dont have to spend time chopping !

    so happy you didnt get the snow..llwe had various amounts up here in New York State depending in what part of it you live in. my part…the capital region ( Hudson Valley) got 17!! My sister got 30!!

    think spring!!!,🍀🙏🏼🌲🌷🌱

  2. I enjoyed reading about all of your blessings this week, Barbara. I’m glad that your husband’s medical issue was able to be solved without major surgery. That is such a blessing. I’ve seen the veggie chips at the store and have wondered how they tasted. Thank you for the heads up on that. I’m glad that you didn’t the snow that was predicted. We had about 8 inches here, but most of it is gone already. We had a couple of snow showers today, but no accumulation from that. I missed hearing about Timothy this week. 🙂

  3. I love veggie chips too! They are a little weakness of mine. 😉 So nice that your son is willing to help you out. That is such a blessing. So glad to hear that your husband is doing better and avoided surgery. Have a good weekend!

  4. Glad your husband dodged that bullet! My husband had his first colonoscopy this week and thankfully all went well.
    I opened a can of soup (chicken with rice) for a casserole this week only to find it was spoiled. (Thankfully I had another can in the pantry.) Even though I hadn’t bought it long ago, the expiration date was 2015. 😦

  5. I’m glad your husband’s health issue didn’t result in surgery and that the snowstorm didn’t affect your area. I hope you have a pleasant weekend. 🙂

  6. So good to know you have a helpful son. I’ve been going through my pantry to try to avoid that essential-ingredient-spoiled problem. Hope your husband’s procedure will go smoothly — and very glad he didn’t need emergency surgery this week!

  7. What a sweet and thoughtful son to willingly detour to help with dinner preps.
    Good news too that your hubby is doing ok!
    I am glad for you that you didn’t hit with too much snow. I think everyone is ready for SPRING!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

