Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a nice, springy week, but there is talk of possible snow over the weekend! Here are some favorite parts of the last week:

1. Jim’s birthday! We had fun celebrating with the family. Timothy is a good assistant present unwrapper. 🙂

Jim's birthday 2017

IMG_0098

2. An outing with the ladies. The ladies of our Sunday School class got together last Saturday for a potluck lunch, a time of working together on projects for one’s daughter’s wedding, and watching a film about Lilias Trotter. Very enjoyable. I am usually home by 2, when Jim’s mom’s caregiver leaves, but Jim was able to be home this time, so I felt a little like a teenager with permission to stay out after curfew. 🙂

3. Kitchen puttering. Last week I cleaned out and organized the food side of the pantry, and this week the kitchen drawers. It’s always good to get those areas back in order and get reacquainted with what’s in there and where it is. I’m amazed at how dust and crumbs accumulate in drawers that are only open to put things in and out. Threw some things away, set aside a few things for donation, but mainly just reorganized.

4. Hospital bed fix. Jim was out of town one night this week, and as I was putting his mom to bed, the part of the hospital bed that raises and lowers the head of the bed stopped working. I called Jesse in to look underneath it, but he couldn’t figure out what was wrong and how to fix it. Thankfully it was in the down position. The next day we propped her up with pillows so she wasn’t lying flat, and her caregiver put her in the wheelchair for meals, so we were able to work around it. When Jim got home, thankfully he was able to fix it.

5. Toddler dancing. Jim got a video of Timothy dancing to music, and it’s so cute – so joyful, and with such total abandon.

Happy Friday!

Save

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Glad you were able to get the hospital bed fixed. I’m sure that was on your mind until Jim got it done. Happy birthday to him!

  2. oh SO glad you got the bed all fixed and that you got to enjoy a day away with your lady friends and a movie. how fun!

    T is getting super big so fast and a very Happy Birthday to your hubby.

    I hope we dont get snow again…everything is JUST starting to turn green….but our temps are plummeting tonight and snow is supposed to arrive on Tuesday. ugh.

    stay wRm this weekend!

  3. Happy Birthday to Jim! I’m glad you were able to take some extra time out for yourself. Those beds can be tricky. I’m glad Jim was able to fix it. Hope your weekend weather isn’t too bad.

  4. Loved your fave fives this week, as always, Barbara. Happy Birthday to your husband. I know that he had some great help with opening his gifts. Timothy did an outstanding job, I am certain. I miss having little ones around to do that anymore

    I was so happy to read that you were able to get out to have fellowship and lunch with the ladies in your Sunday school class. I know those opportunities are limited for you, so I’m happy for you that this time it did work out.

    Loved that were puttering around in your kitchen this week. Isn’t it amazing the things we can accomplish without a lot of stress or time? I have a large drawer at my sink where I keep my things like my different thermometers for cooking, etc. It has needed straightened up and organized for months and the other day I just had had enough of having to hunt for things and I emptied everything out of the drawer and started from scratch. Within 10 minutes the job was finished! Do you think I’m a procrastinator?

    Hope you are having a good weekend.

  5. I can imagine that Thimothy is a good helper in unwrapping gifts ! My DIL tried to teach Toby to unpack nicely and fold the paper, lol ! Without any success ! it’s so nice to hear the noise of torn apart paper !

  6. I love when kids dance! We do it lots in dayhome simply because I so enjoy watching them. 🙂 Whoo hoo for your extended time to let go and have some time away from the house. Well deserved. Happy belated birthday to Jim! Love all the bright paper in his presents. Looks like a rainbow blew up in your living room .

  7. Ah, a glimpse of spring! And it seems like it’s got into Timothy as well. Looks like your husband had a lovely day with lots of “help.” Good to see the small graces that allow you some extra time and work-arounds.

  8. Your little Timothy is so cute! I always enjoy seeing/hearing about him. Happy birthday to your husband! The cake looks delicious.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

