Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

We’re at the first FFF of March, and one day closer to spring! Here are the best parts of the last week:

1. Lunch at Jason and Mittu’s house. Usually, due to my mother-in-law being in our home, not being able to be left alone, and not easily moveable, gatherings take place at our house. But we were invited to lunch on Saturday at my son and daughter-in-law’s on Saturday. We went over mid-morning so we’d have time to visit and have lunch and then leave in time for Great-grandma’s caregiver to leave. They had done a lot of painting and redecorating at their house – even building a table! So it was nice to see how everything looked, nice to visit, and nice to get out for an outing. Of course Timothy and I spent a lot of time playing in his room. 🙂 Jason caught this picture of our guitar duet. 🙂

guitar-duet

2. A rug. I have been wanting to get a rug for this room for ages. It’s smaller than the average living room, so we call it by turns the reading room or the alcove or just the living room. I hadn’t seen anything I liked in the local chain stores and just hadn’t made it out yet to some other floor covering stores in town. I had seen things I liked in catalogs but was antsy about buying something that large that way and then having to deal with it if I didn’t like it. So we had this rug in Jim’s mom’s room. It used to be Jason and Mittu’s – I think we bought it for them not long after they were married – but they didn’t have space for it when they moved into an apartment, and it didn’t really go with their decorating in their rental house. It didn’t really “go” with the things in Jim’s mom’s room either, but it kept part of the concrete floor warm. I had been thinking for months now that it might work in the living room. I was thinking I needed to roll it up and bring it in and try it when it occurred to me that I could just take a pillow from the couch over there (duh!) I asked Jim what he thought, thinking that one Saturday when he had time we might transfer it over, but he got out the cleaning supplies that evening after dinner, and we got it set up. I like both the way it looks plus that the proportions fit so much better than the little mat we had there. Of course, if J&M ever want it back, we’ll be back to square one. 🙂 But we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. And we did have another rug on hand for his mom’s room that Jim had bought at one point to put in the bottom of the tent when they have their big epic backyard camp-out this summer, so we put that in her room. It actually goes well with the futon and curtains there.

img_0093

3. A visitor to the bird feeder. I mentioned last week a new clear bird feeder that attached to the kitchen window. We finally had our first visitor there! He was very skittish about movement or sounds in the kitchen, so he didn’t stay long. I think he was a tufted titmouse. Hopefully he’ll come around again and get more used to us, but next time I see him I’ll stay still for a bit. Plus the replacement one I bought for another window has regular visitors now.

4. Weather. We had some pretty severe and scary storms on Wednesday, but thankfully didn’t suffer any damage or lose power. Then Thursday and this morning, though it has been cold, we’ve had bright, beautiful, blue skies.

5. This video. God’s creation is such a marvel. If this world, marred by sin, contains so much wonder, what must heaven be?

Happy Friday!

Save

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Love to watch those animal videos. I am fascinated with their behavior. The rug is very pretty and makes such a nice cozy area to read and relax. I’m glad you got out for lunch. You should take your guitar duet on the road! LOL Glad you got through the nasty weather on Wednesday. I was concerned for my sons and my friends up there; watching progress on Face Book on the WATE page.

  2. The rug looks like a perfect match for your living room; how nice that you didn’t have to spend and money to buy a new one. We had bad weather Wednesday as well; I’m glad you didn’t suffer any damage. Your mention of the bird feeder reminded me that I need to refill all of ours this weekend. Love your thought about heaven; it’s going to be more wonderful than we can imagine! 🙂

  3. I am so glad that you and Timothy had that opportunity for a guitar duet. 🙂 Loved that picture…and I’m also glad that you and your husband were able to be out for an outing together like that.

    That rug is beautiful, Barbara, and it blends so well with the colors of the upholstery in that room. What a blessing…it must make you smile every time you enter the room.

    We had a bit of scary weather here on Wednesday also…the wind was horrible. Many residents in WV were without power…and still were yesterday at noon. But they were mostly in the southern counties.

    Thank you for sharing that wonderful video of God’s creation. I know that we can never visualize what heaven will be like. Our minds cannot begin to fathom. But I certainly enjoy the creation around us.

    Thanks so much for sharing your fave five with us today.

  4. oh that is a wonderful video…and that song is wonderful ( no pun intended!) but in our home we love the way Louis Armstrongmsang it😀

    that rug is beautiful in your reading corner Barbara and that guitar duet pic melted my heart. how precious it must be to have a grandchild!

    have a happy weekend!!

  5. Congrats on finding the right rugs to fit your living spaces — and without buying a new one. That space looks so cozy and welcoming and the colors soothing. Love love love that shot of your duet. A moment well captured.

  6. I’ve thought that last line so often — as beautiful as many things here on earth are, what must heaven be like? Gives me goosebumps! That must be fun to see your kids settling down in their own homes. I’m looking forward to that 🙂 I’m glad too that you got a break from hosting. The photo with your little grandson is adorable.

  7. I’m glad for your bright blue skies! Spring might be coming…
    The rug swap sounds like a win-win!
    And that photo of you and Timothy playing guitar is priceless 🙂

  8. Love that video. Truly heaven will be something we can’t even imagine. You and Timothy look like you are having so much fun together. The carpet looks great with your furniture. I don’t think I would have thought of the simple solution of taking the pillow into the room. LOL.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

