It’s March!

120-hello-march-quotes-6622-9

“March is a tomboy with tousled hair, a mischievous smile, mud on her shoes and a laugh in her voice.” –  Hal Borland

“It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold:  when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.” –   Charles Dickens

Spring Musings

March bustles in on windy feet
And sweeps my doorstep and my street.
She washes and cleans with pounding rains,
Scrubbing the earth of winter stains.
She shakes the grime from carpet green
Till naught but fresh new blades are seen.
Then, house in order, all neat as a pin,
She ushers gentle springtime in.

– Susan Reiner, Spring Cleaning

I’ve used all of these quotes before on the blog, but it has been a few years, and I wanted to share them again. I like the Borland one especially.

March sure is “coming in like a lion” here, with a severe thunderstorm warning for a good part of the day. I am hoping we don’t lose power, always a concern with this kind of weather.

We have a lot of flowers and trees budding already. I’m hoping they don’t get destroyed by a late freeze. Spring officially begins on the 20th, but I’m very much enjoying the early spring-like conditions!

I’ve got to get back to work now, but I just wanted to pop in and say I am glad it is March!

Save

3 thoughts on “It’s March!

  1. I have to agree with Charles Dickens…because right now it is hard to tell which season it is with all of the up and down temperatures, howling (and I do mean howling) wind, rain, snow showers and the occasional appearance of the sun. 🙂 Thank you again, Barbara, for doing the LIW challenge. I loved reading the different comments that people left on the 28th. Loved how you inspired the teacher to present her own challenge to her class…and how excitedly the students participated.

  2. I love spring for just this reason, that things begin to bud and it looks so fresh and pretty. I remember my spring in TN in 2005. The Bradford pear trees were blooming, I’d never seen anything like them. They were beautiful! Have a great day.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

