Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

We’re at the last FFF of February already! It’s been a fairly comfortable week weather-wise. I haven’t gotten everything done that I wanted – I’ve discovered that sometimes after a very busy week, I’m not always up to par the following week. But other than that it has been a good week.  Here are the best parts of it:

1. Mittu’s birthday. Always a joy to celebrate my daughter-in-law.

img_1520

2. New bird feeders. I mentioned a couple of weeks ago using Amazon gifts cards I had received for Christmas. This was part of what I spent them on. One was to replace a “squirrel resistant” kind I had gotten at W-Mart which the birds didn’t seem to like. I don’t mind if squirrels nibble a little, but they tend to drain the things every other day. So I got a bigger version of a little one I had that the birds have liked. I didn’t take a photo of it. I also got this clear one that attaches to the window with suction cups. We had a small globe-shaped one there, but it was so small that occasionally a bird would get caught in there and flap around trying to get out. This is more open, so that shouldn’t be a problem. They haven’t found it yet, but I trust they will. One sad side effect of having to cut down our backyard trees last summer is that we have fewer birds around. 😦

img_0086

3. Getting out of jury duty – not me, but my mother-in-law’s caregiver. My husband wrote a letter about how much we needed her and what a problem it would be for us if she was out on jury duty, and she took it down to…wherever you go to take care of such things, and they removed her. Yay!

4. The Word Swag app. I normally only get free apps for my phone, but my son told me about this one. It costs a little bit, but I have used it so much it has more than paid for itself. You can search it for photos you want to use or upload your own, add your text, try out different fonts, filters, positions, etc. I use it often for graphics for blog posts, but earlier this week I used it for this excerpt from an Emily Dickinson poem:

img_0089

5. Four years cancer free. It was four years ago this week that my husband had a cancerous kidney removed. After I realized that, memories returned of some of the Lord’s mercies at that time. We had gone in to get a CT scan and biopsy of something else the urologist was concerned about that turned out not to be a problem at all. But the CAT scan revealed a tumor in Jim’s kidney. I happened to be there because Jim had been told he wouldn’t be able to drive home. That turned out not to be the case, either, but it allowed me to be there to hear the doctor’s discovery on the CAT scan, diagnosis, prognosis, etc. This kind of cancer does not respond to chemo or radiation, so he was spared either of those treatments. The only down side of that is that if this same cancer should metastasize, chemo and radiation would not work on it, either. Thankfully this kind does not usually spread. It’s not impossible, and I don’t take for granted that it won’t (though I hope and expect it won’t), so I am thankful each year for freedom from cancer.

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. As always, I enjoyed your Friday Faves, Barbara. Your daughter-in-law is such a blessing…loved the picture of the three of them so much! Happy Belated birthday to her! I’m glad to know that your husband is still cancer free. What an incredible blessing!

  2. So glad to hear your hubby is cancer free after 4 years! Praying it continues.

    Also, so glad your caregiver is able to stay with your mother-in-law.

    Happy birthday to Mittu! She seems a great blessing in your life.

  3. Hi, Barbara! I’m visiting from Susanne’s, but it’s been a while. I’m rejoicing with you over the anniversary of your husband being cancer-free. We have so many on our church prayer list battling cancer right now, so it’s extra encouraging to hear/read about someone who has the victory over it. I will be on the lookout for a clear bird feeder; I’ve never seen one. I’m going to check out the Word Swag app as well; sounds like one I would enjoy. Have a great weekend!

  4. Halleluia for cancer free years!! thatmis indeed a real blessing. Praise God!

    Happy birthday to your dil…what a happy picture of them!

    That bird feeder is really cute and I think i will check out Word Swag…l tend to use picmonkey.

    happy weekend!

  5. That’s great news abut your hubby. Looks like you had a good celebration with your DIL and I’m sure it must have been a relief to not lose the carer to jury service. I also find if I go too mad doing things then I’m fit for nothing afterwards. I’m learning to pace myself. Have a good weekend.

  6. What a wonderful anniversary of your husband’s health. May God continue to keep him free from cancer. I’m so surprised at how grown up Timothy looks in this photo — and you’ve been posting photos since he was born, but his poised smile and stance still surprised me. It’s a great family photo.

  7. Praise God for the cancer free anniversary. Praying it continues. Happy belated birthday to Mittu. We got my mom a bird feeder that attaches to her window for Christmas but because of the weather haven’t had a chance to put it up. Hopefully your feathered friends return.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

