Valentine’s Cards

We had a lovely Valentine’s Day. We’ve always made it a family day. We’ve tried once or twice going out for dinner, but the restaurants are so crowded it took a long time and wasn’t enjoyable. A few years ago for Valentine’s Day I used the recipe for Li’l Cheddar Meat Loaves but shaped the loaves into hearts, and that has become a tradition. (Note on the recipe: I use oatmeal instead of bread crumbs, only about 1 1/2 Tbs of brown sugar instead of 1/4 cup, and I omit the mustard because it gave it more of a BBQ flavor).

It’s also become a tradition to make heart-shaped cupcakes…

img_0082

..and peanut butter cookies with Hershey’s heart candies on top.

img_0083I received flowers and candy from my dear husband and cards from him and Timothy.

img_0084Jason and Mittu and Timothy also gave us these cute magnets from Photo Barn.

img_0085

I’ve also been making my own cards the last few years, and I know some of you like to do the same, so I thought I’d show them to you. I collect card ideas on Pinterest – I have one board for cards and one for Valentine’s Day. So when I have occasion to make a card, I’ll scroll through those for ideas plus the Cricut Design Studio. My generous husband gave me a Cricut Explore a few years ago, which can be hooked up to my laptop. They have “make it and take it” designs, which will allow you to cut the needed elements piece by piece and tell you how to layer them (the computer sends the design straight to the Cricut). Or, if you have an idea of your own, you can search for particular things, like “mug,” and it will show you several designs to choose from and then you can cut them out with the Cricut. So I peruse a lot of these ideas beforehand and see which one seems to “fit” the ones I am making a card for. I seldom copy a design exactly. Some times, like last Christmas, I don’t use the Cricut at all; this time I used it for every card. Of course, many things, like a mug, can be cut out without a machine like this. I can wing it with some things, but not so much with others. 🙂

So here’s what I came up with for this year:

For my husband:

img_0077

For my oldest son, who lives out of state:

img_0069

I had planned to put something like “Sending love your way…” on the front, maybe on one of the clouds. But I thought this looked balanced as is, so I put that on the inside.

For Jason, a coffee aficionado:

img_00711

For Mittu (it’s nice to be able to do one girly one. 🙂 ):

img_0074

I was particularly excited about this one for Timothy. He likes anything on wheels right now, and I had seen one design with a dump truck with hearts in it that I was planning on using. But when I saw the design for an excavator, I had to use it. He’s very much into excavators right now (and it is so cute to hear him say it) thanks to this guy, and can even name all the parts.

img_0076

I was thankful to find stick-on letters (for sale half price!) for that one and the next one at Hobby Lobby.

This was Jesse’s. From the time he was very little, he’s always had a bright, happy spirit, so this seemed perfect for him.

img_0075

And this was for Jim’s mom. My machine had some trouble with the small cuttings – I think maybe I need a new blade, but I didn’t have time to run out for one. There were four hearts layered for this one.

img_0072

I enjoy making these as my gifts to my family.

All in all we had a great day. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Cards

  1. All of your cards are outstanding, Barbara. I always seeing the ones that you have made for any occasion. Your heart shaped meatloaves and cupcakes are adorable…as are the other treats. 🙂

  2. I love your cards and how you make them specifically for each person. I am a rubber stamper and I usually come up with one design and make multiples of it. I need 10 cards for my family. This year I made one design for the 5 children and another for the adults. I enjoy hearing about your family.

  3. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

  4. Love that heart-shaped meatloaf! Your cards are so full of fun and whimsy. I think my favorite is the eye-glasses one 🙂

    I was on a business trip on Feb 14, but four of us took ourselves out to a “gal-entine” dinner. In downtown Chicago, there’s so much to choose from, reservations and crowds were not a problem.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

