Growing in Love

From The Greatest Thing in the World by Henry Drummond

A man once [read I Corinthians 13 once a week for three months] and it changed his whole life. Will you do it? It is for the greatest thing in the world. You might begin by reading it every day, especially the verses which describe the perfect character. “Love suffereth long, and is kind; love envieth not; love vaunteth not itself.” Get these ingredients into your life. Then everything that you do is eternal. It is worth doing. It is worth giving time to. No man can become a saint in his sleep; and to fulfill the condition required demands a certain amount of prayer and meditation and time, just as improvement in any direction, bodily or mental, requites preparation and care. Address yourselves to that one thing; at any cost have this transcendent character exchanged for yours.

img_0070

3 thoughts on “Growing in Love

  1. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 are verses that are part of a challenge I’m doing personally on Scripture Typer. It is amazing to me how they have begun to change my life. Having them hid in my heart gives the Holy Spirit something to convict me with when I am straying. Oh…I’m not perfect at it by any means, but I do see a difference, as does my husband. Thanks so much for sharing this on Valentine’s Day, Barbara. It keeps our minds and hearts focused on the true meaning of love.

  2. Loving, I’ve found, doesn’t always come naturally. It is a conscious decision and one I often am challenged with. Thanks for sharing these thoughts.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

