Friday’s Fave Five

 

friday fave five 12
It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Wow, another week has flown by quickly. I’m thankful for an opportunity to sit down and reflect and appreciate the best parts of it.

1. Good news from Timothy’s cardiologist. When Timothy was born about ten weeks premature, he had a little hole in his heart that normally closes up before babies are born. It caused a heart murmur, and his parents have had to take him him to have it checked out occasionally. They just had an appointment this week, and the echocardiogram showed it had closed up completely. No more visits to the cardiologist or concerns about heart issues!

2. Comfort. When they tried to start the echocardiogram, Timothy got so upset that the technician went to tell the doctor that they weren’t going to be able to do it. His parents held and comforted him and gave him something to drink, and then asked him if he wanted to go to Grandma’s house later. They said that seemed to calm him down, and when the technician came back in, she was able to complete the test. Though probably all of the comfort measures contributed to calming him, it touched my heart to think that the thought of going to Grandma’s helped. I hope he will always regard Grandma’s house that way.

3. Spending gift cards. I had received a couple of gift cards to Amazon for Christmas and enjoyed spending them this week. A couple of items had been in the back of my mind for a while, and it suddenly clicked that I could use the cards for them.

4. Two nights off from cooking. Jason and Mittu brought take-out Mexican food over on Friday night. Then Saturday, Jim was over at their house and saw that while they were working on painting their kitchen cabinets, everything in the cabinets was out on the counters and table. It’s hard to cook while a project like that is going on, so he offered for them to come over and he went out to get take-out Chinese food.

5. Unexpected words of encouragement. A friend send me a sweet note this week that was a big encouragement to me.

6. Bonus: Acetaminophen. I’ve been having some muscle spasms in my back this week, and I am glad that helps.

Happy Friday! Hope you have a good weekend and stay warm!

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh Barbara, I am so thankful to hear about the hole in little Timothy’s heart being closed completely now. What a wonderful God we serve! How sweet that he was calmed by the promise to visit at Grandma’s house after his test. That is SO sweet! I know how it makes your heart feel. πŸ™‚

    Gift cards and two cook-free nights! You have had a wonderful week!

    I’ve had muscle spasms this week also. Brought back memories of how my life was back at the time I was diagnosed with FMS. I’m also grateful for the Acetaminophen!

    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Dianna

  2. Sometimes we say when we take an ibuprophen, “Drugs are good.” I too am thankful for pain killing pills.
    Mexican and Chinese food in one week–yummy!
    How sweet that Timothy loves going to Grandma’s house πŸ™‚

  3. Sure hope those muscle spasms are gone. So painful. Such great news about Timothy’s heart. PTL. Hope you have a nice weekend w/o pain.

  4. I’m glad Timothy’s heart has healed!!! And how precious it must be to feel so valued by him. I’m sure you are a wonderful grandmother! I have an Amazon gift card from Christmas myself. I keep saving it for something special, but it’s probably time to spend it.

  5. oh praise God that little T will no longer need to visit the cardiologist! God is good!!!

    how sweet that he was calmed by the thought of grandma….good job Grammy!πŸ˜€β€

    it is fun to use gift cards! i still have a movie one to use.

    i pray your back is doing better.l.Im currently dealing with a swollen joint near my knee….not fun!!

    enjoy the weekend

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

