Friday’s Fave Five

FFF snowflakesIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Wow, this week seems to have just flown. Well, they all seem to these days, but this one faster than most for some reason. I enjoy the time to stop and reflect over the good things God has allowed the last week or so.

1. Saying good-bye to the “boot” I had to wear after breaking my toe. I am grateful for its protection but glad to be done with it. It’s taken me a couple of days to regain my equilibrium since the boot made my gait uneven, but I am getting there.

2. Reading with Timothy.

img_2394

Mr. Cool with his sunglasses on. πŸ™‚

3. Plastic spoons in a variety of sizes. I’ve been adding to my non-stick cookware with some Christmas gift cards, and I’ve been determined to seek out some plastic or silicon utensils to use with it (just used metal before – which is probably why my previous non-stick cookware didn’t last…). I don’t like the thickness of wooden utensils. Always before I could only find small or really big plastic spoons, but last week I found an inexpensive pack of three in different and more manageable sizes.

4. Hairdresser house calls. The hairdresser of the helper we have for my mother-in-law in the mornings goes to some nursing homes and such to cut hair there, and she (our helper) asked her (the hairdresser friend) if she would mind coming to our house to cut my mother-in-law’s. She’s been doing that for some time now, most recently yesterday. It’s such a big help. My m-i-l’s hair grows fast and then keeps falling in her face. It would be hard to take her in somewhere to get it cut, then we wouldn’t be able to get her into one of their chairs, and she couldn’t sit up even if we could. I could snip at it, but it wouldn’t look very good. So, all told, it’s a big blessing that she can come and do that for us.

5. Yum.

img_0045

Happy Friday!

Save

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Congratulations on losing the boot! You’ll soon gain your usual nimble, graceful gait! The brownie mix looks wonderful. Let me know when they’re ready!!

  2. I always enjoy these Friday Favorite type posts!
    Glad you were able to heal up well and are spending time with Timothy! He’s a cute one…*cough* cool? 8|

    The brownie mix makes me hungry. haha.

    Have a wonderful weekend and God bless! πŸ™‚

  3. You have such special blessings from the week, Barbara. My husband could totally relate to being happy to be rid of the boot while you were recuperating from that broken toe. Once he was able to part with his it took him a bit to get back into his normal gait, but he has now.

    I love the picture of you and Timothy! I smiled when I saw his sunglasses, and then read your comment under the picture about Mr. Cool and his sunglasses and I laughed out loud. Aren’t grandchildren wonderful?

    What a blessing that the hairdresser is able to come to your home to cut your mother-in-law’s hair!

    All of my pots and pans are stainless steel or iron, but I have one large skillet that is non-stick and my dutch oven is non-stick. I like to use the wooden utensils, but am glad that you have found some plastic spoons that will fill the bill for you.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. omgoodness that photo of boxed brownies! i need to email you the link to my homemade pb brownies,….you will never eat boxed again!!😜

    Timothy looks cool with his shades on! how fun to read to your grandson!

    a true blessing that hairdresser is, to come do your M-i-L’s hair.! that must be a relief!

    happy weekend!

  5. That is so nice that the hairdresser comes to the house. What a blessing. So sweet to see your reading times with Timothy. Hope your weekend goes well!

  6. Yipee the boot is gone. Hopefully you’ll be running around in no time. Love the picture of reading with the sunglasses. Kids are so funny. What a blessing to have someone to come and do hair for your MIL.

  7. Oh, I do hope that toe is healing nicely now it’s bootless! That photo with Timothy had me smiling. I had to do some shopping after an appointment where my eyes were dilated and had to wear sunglasses indoors to combat the brightness. So reading with sunglasses on doesn’t seem all that strange!

    How wonderful that you can have someone make house calls for your MIL! So many things we take for granted when we are mobile and able.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

