Friday’s Fave Five

FFF snowflakes

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It has been a rather bleak week outside, but a good one inside. Here are some highlights:

1. One bright, sunshiny day with blue skies in the midst of a grey, overcast week.

2. Hambone and Potato Soup. This was actually from a week or so ago, and I forgot to mention it. The only thing I had ever done with a hambone from our Christmas ham was put it into a pot of beans, but my family doesn’t like beans, so I usually throw it away. My husband encouraged me to look for another dish or soup that I could use it in, and I found this one. It used items I had on hand and was delicious. This may become an after-Christmas tradition like Turkey Bone Soup is after Thanksgiving.

3. Closet reorganization. We’re blessed with four closets near the front entry. One holds coats and jackets, and another has games. I spent the better part of a day with the other two to carve out some space for Timothy’s toys, which had been in a corner of the family room, but his collection was growing. I was able to fill one box from the closet to give away, three more to put in the attic, and consolidate everything else into one so we could use the other for Timothy. Not only does the family room look neater, but I was glad to get reacquainted with what I had in there and pulled out a few items for use around the house.

4. Feeling better after both Jim and I had colds he last couple of weeks. We thought his mom might be catching it from us, which would have been a more serious problem in her condition, but thankfully she just had sniffles for a few days.

5. Library time with Timothy. His parents took him to the library for the first time, and I was glad to hear he loved it, as that had been a favorite activity when my kids were little. He called it the book house. 🙂 Then I had to stop at the library one day to pick up a book I placed on hold, and remembered on my way that they had been planning to take Timothy that day to a kid’s reading session there. So after checking out my book, I wandered over to the children’s section, and they were still there. It’s such a joy to my heart when he is delighted to see me. I got to sit with them for a few minutes and read a few books with him and see him point out and talk about the big rug with the bunnies on it. ♥

img_00291

Happy Friday!

Save

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Reading about your closet cleaning, I thought you’d reviewed Marie Kondo’s book on tidying up 😉 But searching your site, it seems not. Though there’s a few other book reviews I need to catch up on! Glad you’re feeling better and enjoyed meeting up with your sweet boy reading at the library.

  2. Barbara, I enjoyed all of your blessings this week. I am going to check out that recipe for the soup. I’m always looking for new recipes for soup.

    I know exactly how you feel when Timothy looks up and sees you and then his little face lights up. It brought back memories of when our daughter, son-in-law and three year old grandson came to the States to be speakers at a Missionary Conference in Michigan. It had been a year since we’d seen the kids, but we did what would be equivalent to Skype or face time today every week with them. Anyway, when they had gone through customs and the doors opened for them to come through to the waiting area, our grandson saw us, let go of his mother’s hand and literally RAN to the gate that divided us. My husband picked him up and handed him to me. He threw his arms around my neck and kept saying, “Grandma, Grandma, it’s really you!” and then he did the same thing with Grandpa. I’m so glad that you have Timothy close by. I know you enjoy every minute of the time you have with him.

    Congratulations to you for getting those closets sorted out and room made for Timothy ‘s things, plus getting reacquainted with some things you’d forgotten about.

    Have a great weekend. Hope it is filled with a lot of Timothy time for you.

  3. yay for closet sorting!!!

    Timothy is a cutie and isn’t it great that he loves the library?! i miss those days…both my girls loved going. They still love to read too!

    Enjoy the weekend and I hope you get some more sunny days!

  4. Awww — the book house! It *is* a great feeling to see a child or grandchild enjoy something you do. Especially when it’s something so beneficial as reading!! Good for you with the closet. It feels so good to get an area organized, and to find things you’d forgotten about. That’s a great way to use one of the dreary days we’ve been having.

  5. How nice to be able to spend time with Timothy at the library. I can’t wait to spend time with my grand children. I’ve been sorting and sorting and sorting this week ahead of a move. Have a great weekend.

  6. I love when I find a recipe that works well to replace something my family isn’t so fond of. In our case, we ended up with a surprise hit when I used a ham bone in beans – and then prepared the beans according to Mother Wilder’s recipe “peppers and onions and scrolls and scrolls of molasses.” Daniel’s not usually a fan of baked beans, but he enjoyed those (I also added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper to add a bit of oomph)

  7. We love a good ham bone soup. I pinned this and will try it next time we have a ham! Aww I love the name of “book house”. Adorable that he is excited to see you there. Glad you and Jim are feeling better now.

  8. Cute photo of you and Timothy! How blessed you are to live so near to him and his parents.
    I’m glad you are feeling better and especially that your mother in law didn’t get sick.
    Have a great week!

  9. I’m glad to hear you are all feeling better! The “sickness” has made its way through our house and back again but I think we are on the mend also.

    We are great book lovers in my house and my girls just made a trip to the library also. I love to see them read!

    Thanks for stopping by Colletta’s Kitchen Sink!

    Colletta

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

