Family Christmas Cards

I hope you had a special Christmas. We had a nice day with all the family here. Someone, I think my son or daughter-in-law, had the idea of putting our photos in stickers on the Christmas gifts so Timothy could help pass them out to the right person that way. He was very patient as we got breakfast and read the Nativity story, then passed out a few gifts to others, then said, “Baby presents?” like, “Hey, shouldn’t I be getting one of these?” 🙂

The last few years I have been making cards for my immediate family, so I thought I’d show you the cards I made for Christmas. As I scouted Pinterest for ideas, I noted that several I had pinned had snowmen, so I decided to go with a snowman theme.

For this one for my husband, I looked up “snowman template” and cut out this little couple, colored them with colored pencils, then decorated around them. The background paper has phrases from “The Twelve Days of Christmas” on it.

img_1365

This was for my oldest son. I used the Cuttlebug to emboss the snowflakes on the background. I love the perspective of this one (I can’t take credit for it – I saw it on Pinterest. 🙂 )

img_1371

This was for Jason. I love the cheeriness of this one.

img_1370

This was for Mittu. I was delighted to find wintry paper that had purple in it.

img_1368

This cute one was for Timothy.

img_1369

This was Jesse’s. I think I got something a little askew with the hat…

img_1372

This was for Jim’s mom. I had seen the idea for “JOY” with a wreath in place of the O, and changed it for a snowman’s face.

img_1366

Then I stayed with the same theme for our anniversary card with a different template:

img_1374

I used punches for some of the circles and squares and buttons and eyes, stickers in some places and markers in others.

Overall it was fun to do while listening to the Instrumental Christmas station on Pandora. Most of it was done after the toe injury and thankfully after I had almost everything else done but the cleaning, which my husband graciously did. I think they all liked them.

I’m working on some end of the year blog posts of books read this year, my favorites of them, and a wrap-up post for the Mount TBR Reading Challenge. I’m afraid they will overlap a bit. 🙂 And usually around this time I look back over some of my favorite posts of the year. So, as time allows, that’s what will be up the rest of this week.

Save

6 thoughts on “Family Christmas Cards

  1. Beautiful cards! You are very talented. It is so nice that you take the time to make these special cards for your family members. Will look forward to your book posts!

  2. These are so nice, Barbara! I especially like the purple one and the one you made for Timothy, but they are all nice. Thanks for sharing. I’ve made a few cards in my time but have never really gotten into paper crafting. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Your Christmas cards are so cute! You are so clever. They are surely treasured by each family member. Hard to believe that we are at the end of the year. I look forward to reading how you did on your reading challenge. Have a great dat,

  4. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

