What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

It’s the last Nightstand post of 2016! I’m not quite sure how much reading I got done this busy month, so let’s take a look:

Since last time I have completed:

The Messenger by Siri Mitchell, audiobook, reviewed here. A Quaker woman, who is a pacifist and not supposed to have anything to do with war, ends up passing messages for the rebels during their fight for independence for England. Very interesting historical fiction!

The Voice of Experience: Stories About Health Care and the Elderly by Samuel and Jane K. Brody, reviewed here.

From Heaven: A 28-Day Advent Devotional by A. W. Tozer, reviewed here. Some convicting, memorable quotes.

A Sandy’s Seashell Shop Christmas by Lisa Wingate, reviewed here. With some of the characters from The Prayer Box, a woman who hasn’t celebrated Christmas for three years since the loss of her husband finds reasons to. Sweet novella.

Finding Father Christmas/Engaging Father Christmas by Robin Jones Gunn, reviewed here. Nice Christmas read about a woman who goes to England with few clues to try to find out about the father she never knew.

The Christmas Violin by Buffy Andrews, reviewed here. Intersections in the lives of a man grieving the loss of his wife, a woman grieving the loss of her son, and a homeless woman. Intriguing concept, but a bit of a disappointment.

The Christmas Stories of Louisa May Alcott, audiobook, reviewed here.

And a reread, The Women of Christmas by Liz Curtis Higgs. I didn’t review it again, but my review from a few years ago is here. I found it just as edifying as the first time.

So…I did better than I thought, but probably because several of them are very short.

I’m currently reading:

A Patchwork Christmas Collection by Judith Miller, Nancy Moser, and Stephanie Grace Whitson

How to Read the Bible For All Its Worth by Gordon D. Fee and Douglas Stuart

Up Next:

I have a new stack of books received for Christmas:

img_0001

Plus I have books I received from my last birthday and bought for Kindle sales as well. I haven’t worked out my reading plans for next year yet, but The Magnolia Story is likely to be high on the list!

I also posted all the books I read in 2016 here and my top 16 here.

Happy reading!

Save

5 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2016

  1. Our pastor recommended “How to Read the Bible …” several years back. I honestly can’t remember if I read it or not! Bummer on the violin book being a bit of a disappointment, because it sounds intriguing to me as well!

  2. I always enjoy reading your book reviews. A good selection there. I’ve read a couple of Robin Jones Gunn books. Have a wonderful day.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

