Friday’s Fave Five

christmas FFF

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s Christmas Eve Eve! 🙂  Ready or not, here Christmas comes! Hope you’re having a good time with the things you need to do. I think we’re just about ready except for a little pie baking on Saturday. Our goal was to get done by the time my oldest son got here rather than by Christmas. In the midst of all the happy activities, I’m thankful for a few minutes to sit down and recount the blessings of the week.

1. My husband would be a favorite every week, of course, but this week I have so appreciated his pitching in to cook, wash dishes, do all the “before someone comes to visit” cleaning while I’ve had to be off my foot because of a broken toe. I hate that he’s having to spend his vacation that way, but I’m grateful he was on vacation to do so. Thankfully the cleaning is caught up so we can relax and enjoy the next few days, and I am starting to be able to hobble around a bit more.

2. Our 37th wedding anniversary was Wednesday. My husband brought me flowers, candy, a sweet card, and took me out to a very nice dinner, plus we had a little more time to talk than we normally do.

img_1956

3. An anniversary dinner made by my daughter-in-law a few days before our anniversary. Plus cake!

img_2183

4. Christmas cards and family newsletters. It seems like fewer people do this each year, but I love receiving them.

5. Our oldest son coming home for a much-anticipated visit. 🙂

I hope each of you has a special, meaningful Christmas. The first Christmas wasn’t “perfect” by our standards today, but it was just the way God planned it. No matter how many people are there (or not) and what’s under the tree (or not), we can celebrate the best gift of all: the Son of God who willingly came to Earth to keep God’s law perfectly in our place, to atone for our sins, and to make a way for us to be reconciled to God and experience His presence. “Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel, (which means, God with us)” (Matthew 1:23). God with us! In the forgiveness of our sins, in our everyday needs and fellowship. “Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!” (2 Corinthians 9:15).

Save

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

    • We saw the dr. Wednesday and I was hoping for some clear guidelines on what I can do when, but he was pretty vague – basically just said if it starts hurting, get off of it. :-/ I’d rather avoid hurting it in the first place. 🙂 So basically I’ll do a little bit and then sit down and put my foot up and then do a bit more. I made dinner for the first time yesterday – basically stood up long enough to peel potatoes and throw stuff in the crockpot. And that seemed to go ok. I’m thinking I can start and then if I feel like I need to stop partway through, I can either put the batter in the fridge for a bit or see if someone wants to finish it for me. My oldest son who lives out of town is here now and does some baking, so he might not be intimidated. 🙂

      On Fri, Dec 23, 2016 at 2:32 PM, Stray Thoughts wrote:

      >

  1. Happy Anniversary!! WOW you have been married almost 40 years! That is a great testimony nowadays. We are in our 26th year 🙂

    I love when my hubby helps out around the house and I also mentioned that as a fave this week!!

    Enjoy the time with your oldest son and have a wonderful Merry CHRISTmas!!

  2. Have a wonderful Christmas! Happy Anniversary! You must have been married in 1979 – same year as my husband and I. Out 37th was back in June. So glad your son is coming home for a visit. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. Happy Anniversary! You are blessed with a wonderful husband and family. Your daughter-in-law sounds like a gem:) Have a very Merry Christmas, Barbara.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

