Friday’s Fave Five

christmas FFF

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I’m grateful for a regular time in a busy week to count blessings that I might otherwise overlook or forget. Here are a few from the past week:

1. Making Christmas cookies with Timothy. I’m not sure why we didn’t do this last year, but he was full-fledged into it this year. He liked the rolling out better than the cutting, but he seemed to like the star cookie cutter best of the choices. And he enjoyed the icing and sprinkles as well.

img_1940

Sugar cookies aren’t my #1 favorites (that would be anything with chocolate chips, and with both chocolate and peanut butter, all the better!), but sometimes they hit the spot, both the ones we made from a gluten-free mix (Pillsbury, I think) plus some store-bought ones Jesse had leftover from an event he went to. I didn’t grow up making sugar cookies at Christmas, and did them off and on when my kids were little, but now they seem a definite part of the season.

2. Numbing agents. I wrote yesterday about breaking and dislocating my toe. Any time on TV that you see someone having a dislocated bone reset, there’s a lot of yelling and pain, so I was glad the doctor numbed my foot for the proceeding!

3. Clinics with evening hours. Our doctor’s office has had weekday evening hours, usually with a nurse practitioner, for some time now, but I didn’t know that specialties like an orthopedic clinic had evening, walk-in, no appointment needed hours as well.

4. Warm showers. This is one of those everyday blessings we don’t even think about until we can’t have them for some reason. I was thinking about showers this week when a major character in a book I was reading was homeless and had to clean up in public restrooms as best she could. Then I skipped a shower on the day after my toe injury, and was fine that day, but the next day my skin and scalp felt awful. It felt so good to get under warm water and wash and rinse off.

5. Dinner and a sweet card. Last night Mittu sent over dinner and this card she and Timothy made.

img_1945

I hope your Christmas preparations are going well and you have a few quiet moments to relax, reflect, and enjoy. Happy Friday!

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. A lot to be thankful for this week! I’m glad that they did numb your toe before reducing the dislocation. Wow! Cookie baking with the little one must have been so much fun.

  2. Oh, that card is precious. I do like sugar cookies with tea — my favorite. However, I’m not very good at the decorating part of it. It’s good when something makes me appreciate one of those things I take for granted, like a hot shower. We all need a wake up call once in a while, don’t we?

  3. I don’t think any of us realise how painful toe injuries can be until we’ve experienced them. I’ve been there so I know what you’re going through. Hope it doesn’t spoil your Christmas. We had cookies this week -sent to my DIL all the way from America.

  4. Sorry about your toe injury but what a cute card! Definitely one for the memory box.

    I don’t really like sugar cookies either but I’m looking forward to decorating some with the twins. (Not this year, though, I think!) 🙂

  5. That card is the best! I love how your family is so there for each other! Praying your toe heals fast. The cookie making looks fun and I’m sure will be a special memory. We do tend to take such simple things as a warm shower for granted and it’s good to pause and actually be thankful for that.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

