A few cards

At our ladies’ Christmas party last week, we were to bring three of the same item ($5 or less each) to give away that were some of our favorite things. At the party, we each had an opportunity to share why these things were our favorites, then three names were drawn and our three things given to those three people, and we each went home with three gifts from others.

After mulling over what I could possibly share, I came up with note cards. Even though people don’t send them as much as they used to, there are still occasions for them. Making cards when I have time is one of my favorite things, and I have a stamp that says “I’m thinking of you prayerfully,” which covers a lot of situations. So I made six cards in different designs and combined them two to a package for my gifts. I thought I’d show you how they came out.

img_1938

img_1935

img_19331

The brown above was meant to be a suitable for a man or woman, and I think it is, but the flocked butterflies make it maybe a little less masculine than I had intended. 🙂

img_1934

img_1936

This blue one turned out to be one of my favorites.

img_1937

The leaves on this one were from one little square stamp. Some years ago someone showed me the technique of rotating it a quarter turn while stamping it in a row so it looks like the leaves are tumbling. And a multi-colored stamp pad accounts for the variety of color. Though I can see that for the phrase stamp, it would be better not to end of begin the word in the yellow part – it makes it look like it is fading out.

Part of me thought I must be crazy trying to do this in a busy Christmas season, especially when I have family Christmas cards to do (I make Christmas cards for my immediate family but buy them for extended family and friends – it would take too much time to make them for everyone we send them to). But I kept them pretty simple, didn’t use the Cricut at all, and the trim and flowers were either cut with a straight edge and glued on or were stick-on. I like how the flowers on the blue cards add some texture but aren’t over-fussy. I don’t like a whole lot of stuff sticking out from the card, but a little is nice.

They afforded a few pleasant afternoons of creating while listening to Christmas music, and I hope the recipients enjoy them.

4 thoughts on “A few cards

  1. These are all lovely, Barbara. What a great idea! I especially like the black and white one, the light blue with the bouquet of light blue flowers, and the one with the tumbling leaves.

    • I received a box of cereal with two mini Snickers bars attached (the giver’s favorite breakfast choices). I took off the candy and gave the cereal to my m-i-l’s helper. I also received extra dark chocolate Lindt truffles – love Lindt, hate dark chocolate, so Jim has been eating those. And I got some wassail spice mix, which I am sure I will use here soon. That’s the only problem with this idea – my favorite thing may not be the recipient’s. We did this last year, too, and I can’t remember what I got except some peppermint scrub, which I gave away, and I think I gave away most if not all of the other gifts as well. I was praying this year I wouldn’t get any soaps, lotions, candles, etc., as I can’t use them. I know of one lady who received a food item she was allergic to. Maybe we ought to set up a trading post for people to exchange gifts. 🙂 They don’t do secret pals or secret sisters here any more, but I liked giving to someone with some idea of what they’d like.

      On Tue, Dec 13, 2016 at 2:28 PM, Stray Thoughts wrote:

      >

  2. I love the idea of a gift exchange of favorite things — AND the idea of keeping it small. I would love to exchange $5 meaningful gifts with family instead of the over-the-top exchanges that seem to be the norm these days. I love your notecards, and the way you let us in on the thought processes (turning the leaves 1/4 turn, not beginning/ending with yellow, etc). Now I see that you’ve posted what you received, so I’m anxious to read that too 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

