Friday’s Fave Five

christmas FFF

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Are you making good progress on your Christmas plans? God hs given me some productive days this week: I knocked a few things off the list, and the schedule’s looking pretty good, but I’ll relax more when everything’s done. Here are some highlights from the last week:

1. Flowers. I don’t often buy flowers for myself, but I spotted these in a nearby bin while I was bagging my broccoli in the produce section of the store, and when I saw they were only $5, I succumbed. I love how the sparkly babies’ breath makes them festive. Roses may be my favorite, but I have a soft spot for carnations, and they are one flower whose scent I love (and doesn’t make me sneezy!)

img_1932

2. Coffee, even though I don’t like flavored coffee, have been drinking it without sweetener since I had to learn to when I had gestational diabetes with one pregnancy nearly 30 years ago (once I learned to like it that way, I figured I may as well keep with it since I get plenty of sugar other places), and have to have decaf due to heart rhythm problems. It still hits the spot, and now that the weather is colder, I drink more to keep warm.

3. A nice meal prepared by my daughter-in-law, including cookies!

4. Rain and sunshine. As many of you know, we have been under drought conditions for months here in Eastern TN, so I didn’t begrudge the rain at all. In fact, I welcomed it. But after about three days of cloudy skies, I did rejoice to see bright sunshine again. I’m not sure if we are back up to normal conditions or not, but it looks like we’re predicted to have a couple of days of rain in each of the next couple of weeks, so that should certainly help.

5. Church Ladies’ Christmas Party. This is the first time since I’ve been here that this annual event hasn’t been in a home or at the church. We had it in a historic inn that was lovely, if a little cramped (“open concept” was not known in the old days!) Had a very good time, enjoyed the testimony given, and the night out did me a lot of good.

Happy Friday!

Save

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. The carnations are just lovely. I had pink carnations and baby’s breath in my wedding bouquet so I have a soft spot for them as well. I shift from flavored coffee and half and half to regular coffee and flavored creamer. I use Stevia for sweetner. Lately, I’ve been drinking more flavored teas. I’m glad you treated yourself to the flowers. Have a great weekend.

  2. The spicy scent of carnations is so lovely, I’m glad it’s one you can enjoy with ease. Hurray for rain! It must be challenging for areas of the country where rain is expected but doesn’t come, especially if you don’t have irrigation systems.

  3. I LOVE the look of carnations but not the scent! Yours are especially pretty.
    i LOVE my coffee and JUST today decided I need to stop adding sugar to it. I never put in a lot but my goal is to be sugar free for the most part minus a Xmas cookie or two.
    How fun to have a church Xmas party at an inn!

    I hope you have a wonderfully relaxing weekend!

  4. Carnations have always been one of my favorites. The bright pink is lovely. How wonderful to have dinner cooked for you by your lovely daughter in law on a regular basis. That is always a nice treat. Our church Ladies Christmas party was cancelled this year and I really missed it. Hopefully it will be back next year. Having it at an old inn sounds nice.

  5. Carnations are always so pretty and last for a long time, and come in so many colors. I can’t help but have a soft spot for them. The sparkly baby’s breath is so festive. Your daughter-in-law is a gem. There is no one so appreciative of a home cooked meal as those of us who have done it for others for so many years! Your Christmas gathering sounds lovely.

  6. I love the flowers! Glad you could get some cheer for such a reasonable price.

    I don’t put sugar in my coffee, but I do like the flavored creamers … so I guess I do put some in, LOL

    Yay, for an evening out with the girls! I always love that.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

