Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall backgroundIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I can hardly believe Thanksgiving is NEXT WEEK! Where did November go?! I know I comment probably too often on how fast time is flying – but, man, it’s crazy!

But no matter how fast the week goes by, I am grateful for this pause on Fridays to remember and recount and appreciate some of its special moments.

1. Going to a craft show. I wrote more about it here. It had been a long time since I had done anything like that, and it was so much fun.

2. Safe tree removal. I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that our neighbors had a grass fire that spread quickly. A huge pine tree in their yard was scorched pretty badly, and they told my husband they were going to have it taken down. One day as I pulled into the driveway, I noticed this tree was leaning towards our house. I don’t think that was totally due to the fire – the trunk just grew in a weird way. I wish I had taken a picture of it. That night I was a little afraid to go to sleep in my room, afraid the tree would come crashing down on me during the night. When they finally had someone come out, I was nervous most of the day lest part of the tree fall on the house or the fence. It did fall right next to the fence – my husband said another foot and it would have taken it out — but they got it down with a minimum of damage.

3. Snuggling with Timothy. He’s usually on the go too much to sit beside me or in my lap for very long, but this last Sunday afternoon he did, and it did my Grandma’s heart good. πŸ™‚

4. The Frazor Evangelistic Team is at our church this week. We were only able to go on Sunday, but I was so blessed by the music especially.

5. Mini apple strudels. I hadn’t seen these in quite a while, and the last ones I saw didn’t have the glaze on top, which to me just makes it. So I was glad to spot these again in the store. They look big in this photo, but in reality each one was only big enough for a bite or two.

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Those strudels look good enough to eat! I’m glad the tree came down without any incident. I imagine it is tricky taking a big tree down with houses nearby. I’m glad you enjoyed your craft show. Have a great weekend.

  2. So glad the tree is down with minimal damage. We always wonder about the huge maple in our neighbor’s yard when the winds blow. Sounds like a good week filled with good things. Have a wonderful weekend and a very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  3. Apple anything makes me happy πŸ™‚
    Whew, I was reading through your account about the neighbor’s tree, wondering what the result was going to be (what blessing??). I’m relieved that all is well.
    Little snuggles are best, aren’t they?

  4. praise God that the tree came down ok!!

    yay for having time with your grandson..lhe must be getting so big!

    those apple things look like something i make called mini apple pies….apple pie filling rolled up in a cresent roll, but i only sprinkle cinnamon sugar on mine.

    Ive never heard of that evangelistic team so I went to the website…very nice!!! i love good gospel music!

    happy weekend and a happy thanksgiving!!

  5. I love two-bite treats — kind of like the dessert “shots” that some restaurants have for just a little sweet finish to the meal, not another course. Hope you enjoy your family time at Thanksgiving. Maybe Timothy will do his snuggle trick again πŸ™‚ Hurray for trees not falling on houses!

  6. Those strudels look like just what I don’t need!!

    Would you believe that J. Frazor was a 7th grade student of mine at one point? πŸ™‚

  7. That’s always a danger when a tree is not stable anymore ! My grandson was 6 yesterday, we should have gone to Amsterdam, but with my ankle I I can’t walk much and in Amsterdam no cars are allowed ! So it will be for another time

  8. Well I’m glad the tree came down without any further damage. We lost a tree some years back – it crashed through our fence and fell on a sun lounger our neighbour had left out. But no one was hurt so all was fine. Those strudels look delicious πŸ™‚ Have a good weekend.

  9. hi Barbara! my oldest, who graduated from Gordon College ( boston) in 2015 isnstill living at home. shes 23 and works locally for Michaels and is still looking for a graohic design job!! cant afford to live on her own until full time work comes along. please pray!!

  10. Grandma snuggles are the best!

    It was craft fair weekend in our area. I used to go every year faithfully but somehow I quit going and never think of it until it’s too late …

    It’s now lunch time and I’m wishing I had one of those apple strudels about now …

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

