Back to the Classics Challenge Wrap-Up

BackToTheClassics2016

I’ve read the following for the Back to the Classics challenge (titles link to my reviews) hosted by Books and Chocolate:

  1. A 19th Century Classic –  Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens. (Finished 2/22/16)
  2. A 20th Century ClassicThe Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame (Finished 6/3/16)
  3. A classic by a woman author. Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder, part of the Little House series. (Finished 2/15/2016)
  4. A classic in translation (originally written in a language other than your own): Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne (French) (Finished 3/15/16)
  5. A classic by a non-white author. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass. (Finished 2/29/16)
  6. An adventure classic – can be fiction or non-fiction. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe (Finished 4/29/16)
  7. A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic. The Sword in the Stone by T. H. White (Finished 3/24/16)
  8. A classic detective novel. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins (Finished 4/18/16)
  9. A classic which includes the name of a place in the title. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain. (Finished 3/8/16)
  10. A classic which has been banned or censored. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift (Finished 6/23/16)
  11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college). The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway. (Finished 3/26/16)
  12. A volume of classic short stories. (One complete volume, at least 8 short stories, single or multiple authors). Great British Short Stories: A Vintage Collection of Classic Tales (Finished 7/5/18)

We’re allowed three children’s classics for this challenge, and I have two: The Wind in the Willows and Little Town on the Prairie. A few of the others later had children’s versions made of them and came to be thought of as children’s stories, but according to my research weren’t originally written as children’s stories.

Participants are eligible for prizes with a certain number of entries for books read. Since I read all twelve categories, I’m eligible for three entries. Yay!

I believe I listened to all of these via audiobook, but with some I got a free Kindle version because I wanted to read parts over.

I actually finished back in July: it helped that many of these were short, which I didn’t realize when I picked them. I could have read/listened to more and have accumulated more through sales, but I wanted to save them for next year’s challenge.

I’ve mentioned that I somehow missed being exposed to a lot of classics growing up, and I have made it a mission to seek them out and educate myself as an adult. Some of these I probably would not have chosen on my own, but I am thankful this challenge caused me to diversify my reading a bit. I enjoyed all of them in their own way, but probably the one I enjoyed most was Wind in the Willows.How did I get to be on the far side of 50 before reading that?!

Thanks, Karen, for the challenge! I am looking forward to next year!

Save

3 thoughts on “Back to the Classics Challenge Wrap-Up

  1. What an impressive collection you have read! I haven’t read very many classics and I want to. They are priceless. Thanks for sharing your selection. I hope you win a prize! Have a blessed day.

  2. I always enjoyed this challenge. I am looking forward to being finished with my Classics Club Challenge. only 7 months to go… And I won’t have it completed by then. Some great reads on this challenge. I really like Around the World in 80 Days.

  3. Congratulations on finishing! I have never read The Wind in the Willows. I will keep in in mind for future challenges. I am really looking forward to seeing what categories Karen has set up for 2017.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

