What’s On Your Nightstand: October 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

This is one of those odd months when there is still almost a week left after the last Tuesday, but I guess that will make next month’s reading look all the better with the extra week. 🙂  October seems to have flown by, but I’ve had some great times reading here and there.

Since last time I have completed:

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson, reviewed here. Mixed emotions on this one: some good things, some I didn’t agree with.

The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate, audiobook, reviewed here. A mom of a teenager and an 8 year old escapes from an abusive relationship to start a new life and is asked to clean the house of a neighbor who has passed away. In doing so, she finds boxes of prayers the women had written out to God and is impacted by her life. Drags a little in places but in others it’s wonderful.

Five Brides by Eva Marie Everson, reviewed here. Five roommates in the early 1950s pool their resources to buy a beautiful wedding dress, and this traces the pathways of each of them. Not my favorite of her books, but a pleasant read.

I am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up For Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb, reviewed here. Fascinating.

Knowable Word: Helping Ordinary People Learn to Study the Bible by Peter Krol, reviewed here. Very good.

The Loveliness of Christ from the letters of Samuel Rutherford, reviewed here. Excellent.

I’m currently reading:

I’m Still Here: A New Philosophy of Alzheimer’s Care by John Zeisel

Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner. A real page-turner!

The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson

Up Next:

June Bug by Chris Fabry

Waiting For Peter by Elizabeth Musser

Radical Womanhood: Feminine Faith in a Feminist World by Carolyn McCulley

As usual, I have stacks both on my shelves and in my Kindle app to choose from after these.

What are you reading?

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: October 2016

  1. You read so much! I only finished 3 books this month, but honestly I’m blaming it on reading through the Bible in a year (those readings take quite a bit of time), plus a Bible study I’m currently in that is taking quite a bit of time. I have read and enjoyed one by Melanie Dickinson. The Prayer Box sounds good!

  2. I LOVED Secrets of a Charmed Life. Susan Meissner is one of my absolute favorite authors. Fall of Marigolds was my very favorite of hers that I’ve read so far. 🙂

  3. I read Five Brides also and it wasn’t my favorite either. Susan Meissner’s book sounds good though. I always like a page turner! The loveliness of Christ sounds good too.

    I also have so many books on my bookshelf and kindle! I don’t think I’ll ever have any trouble finding a book to read. : )

    Enjoy your next set of books!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

