Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leavesIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

We’re just zooming right through this month, aren’t we? Here are some favorite parts of the last week:

1. Generosity of my son and daughter-in-law who made dinner twice this week and brought me flowers and my husband chocolate-covered peanuts plus a card from Timothy.

img_1896

img_1898

2. A Little Casar’s pizza place with a drive-through. For various reason’s we don’t like them for dinner but think they are perfect for after church on Sunday nights, and there is one on our route now with a drive-through window. 🙂

3. A whole weekend without cooking. Between the first two entries here and then my husband getting McAlister’s Deli for lunch Sunday, I had the weekend almost completely “off” in the kitchen.

4. Fall color. If it’s not at its peak, it’s pretty close to it. Sometimes it goes by pretty quickly but this year it seems to be taking its time, and I love it. I love seeing how our neighbor’s tree in particular looks every morning and wish I had taken a photo of it day by day for comparison.

5. Two favorite foods. I’ve mentioned both of these before, but it’s ok to be thankful for them again. 🙂 One of my favorite things to do with leftover meatloaf is to make a grilled cheese sandwich with the slices for lunch. Kind of like a patty melt you can find in some restaurants but without the droopy onions.

img_1897

Then I also made Choco-Peanut Butter Dreams (recipe here).

CIMG3227

They’re not specifically fallish but I tend to want them in the fall. So Mittu would have a gluten-free option, I also made Quick Peanut Butter Cookies (recipe on the same link as the other) except instead of drop cookies, I put dough in mini cupcake pans and then after taking them out of the oven, I placed a mini Reese’s peanut butter cup in the dough and then let them cool. After this and making cookies a week or two ago, I decided I need to lay off the cookie baking for a while – it’s too easy to grab a couple off and on through the day. But they were good while they lasted!

Hope you’re having a wonderful Friday!

Save

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’ve got to try the meatloaf/grilled cheese sandwiches! The flower and chocolates were such a sweet gift. Hope you are having a good day.

  2. wonderful list of faves this week…those cookies look delish but i have really cut back on sweets. As I type this I have homemade pumpkin bars (recipe is on my blog) for company tomorrow. But with quitting my teaching job and being home all week now, I have to be purposeful about being active, not just power walking, and lay off the sweets otherwise, at this age, I will be gaining weight!! my husband and I are finding that being in our 50s is really making us watch what goes into our mouths. HAHA…..can be hard!!

    I love that you had time off in the kitchen……I love when that happens although I do love to cook, too.

    Yes, autumn here in the Northeast has been especially pretty this year. Our colors are just at peak now but in the mountains to the north of me they are a bit past peak. much colder there.

    enjoy the weekend!!

  3. Looks like your family speak the same love language — taking care of one another with food and good cheer. Hurray for freedom from the kitchen for a few days!

    Love that idea for meatloaf-grilled-cheese. I like baking cookies, too, Barbara. But the downside is having them around just a little too much!

  4. Barbara, you have the most thoughtful son and daughter-in-law. The card from Timothy is adorable! You are blessed.

    I had never thought of using meatloaf for the meat in a grilled cheese sandwich. I’ll try that the next time we have meatloaf. Oh…you have the same china pattern that we use here at lunch time. 🙂

    With my husband’s situation right now we haven’t been able to get out much to enjoy the color, but the trees here on our road are beautiful. I noticed this morning that even our Asian Pear tree is beautiful this year.

    I’m glad you had an almost kitchen free weekend last weekend!

    Have a great weekend!

  5. It’s heartwarming to hear about your relationship with you son and daughter in law. Very sweet. That sandwich and treats look real good. Yippee for a no cook weekend. Fall colors are so nice to see. Today as I drove I kept thanking God for the beauty of it all. Have a good weekend.

  6. Well looks like you made up for the cooking free weekend with your baking. The sandwich looks really tasty but I can pass on anything with peanut butter in. Yes, strange, I know lol

  7. I once lived next door to a beautiful old home in New Hampshire that had the most beautiful big old maples in the front yard. In the Autumn they would turn the brightest orange and when the sun shined down on them in the morning it was absolutely stunning -they looked as if they were on fire!

  8. I have a friend who also uses pudding mix in her cookies and they are always delicious. Your cookies LOOK so TASTY and I bet taste just as good as they look. Thanks for the link and for ALL the recipes. Looks like a good resource.

    How fun to have a mini-cooking free vacation. you are surrounded by caring people.

    That was a smart move for Little Caesars.

    Have a great weekend.

  9. The meatloaf grilled cheese sounds delicious but hubby would probably go for those droopy onions. LOL. It’s probably a good thing I don’t enjoy baking because I would have a very hard time snitching here and there all day! Yay for a break from cooking. That’s always nice.

  10. I love the fall colors too and enjoy them vicariously through everyone’s photos.
    How sweet of your family to help out with meals! You really do have a wonderful son and daughter in law (and grandson and hubby too).

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

