What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

September has seemed like a long month to me, though it’s a shorter one. But I look forward each month to sharing what I’ve been reading and seeing what others have as well.

Since last time I have completed:

The Promise of Jesse Woods by Chris Fabry, audiobook, reviewed here. A young man revisits his past growing up in a small Southern town with his two best friends: a mixed race boy and a girl from the wrong side of the tracks. Good.

Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney, reviewed here. Empty nesters turn their big family home into a bed and breakfast only to have one daughter show up on opening day estranged from her husband. Enjoyed it quite a lot.

I’m No Angel: From Victoria’s Secret Model to Role Model by Kylie Bisutti, reviewed here. Kylie reached the top of her profession and then walked away after concluding that it didn’t fit in with her new Christianity. A look at the seamy side of modeling. Good.

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro, reviewed here. A butler muses over his life, profession, the meaning of dignity, and lost opportunities. Loved it.

Be Real (I John): Turning From Hypocrisy to Truth by Warren Wiersbe. I haven’t reviewed this particular one, but I discussed a few of the others in one post here. Very helpful.

A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron, reviewed here. A modern timeline of a newlywed’s husband being investigated for fraud and one a young woman in Prague during WWII intersects in the life of one girl. Good.

I’m currently reading:

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson.

I’m Still Here: A New Philosophy of Alzheimer’s Care by John Zeisel

The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate, audiobook.

Five Brides by Eva Marie Everson

Up Next:

June Bug by Chris Fabry

Waiting For Peter by Elizabeth Musser

As usual, I have stacks both on my shelves and in my Kindle app to choose from after these.

Happy Reading!

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2016

  1. I enjoyed your reviews. I joined in this month and hope to make it a regular thing. I need to get back to doing book reviews too although it feels too much like high school when I do them. 🙂
    Have a great day.

  2. Several of these piqued my interest, especially as I read your reviews throughout the month. In particular I may need to visit The Remains of the Day. I saw the film years ago but didn’t even realize it was from a book. 🙂

  3. I, too, LOVED Remains of the Day. I am kind of surprised at the Victoria’s Secret one — doesn’t seem like your typical read! But it does sound interesting to me!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

