Book Review: Home to Chicory Lane

chicory-innIn Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney, Audrey and Grant Whitman decide to turn their empty nest into a bed and breakfast in Missouri. They’ve sunk a good bit of their resources into it, hoping to make some back, and Grant has retired from his stressful job to help operate the inn. After decorating and getting everything ready, friends and family come in for the grand opening. But someone totally unexpected shows up right in the midst of the big day: their daughter Landyn, a newlywed living in NY with her husband, unannounced, alone, and with a UHaul.

Trying to get to the bottom of what’s going on with Landyn, trying to figure out how best to help, while still staying on top of things for the inn makes for a stressful time.

Landyn made me want to shake her by the shoulders at first. But I enjoyed seeing how she and her husband, Chase, finally came together and tried to work out their issues through very plot twists and turns.

I identified most with the parents: it’s hard to know sometimes with adult children when to advise, when to help, and when to step back and let them figure it out and grow on their own.

Overall it was a very enjoyable book. The one spot I didn’t like was when the young couple came together after a long separation. It’s not as graphic as Song of Solomon or Proverbs 5:19, but I would rather the scene had stopped a few paragraphs earlier.

It did convince me definitely that one thing I never want to do is open a bed and breakfast. 🙂

This is the first of three in a series called Chicory Inn novels, and I’m looking forward to getting to know more of the Whitman’s large family.

Genre: Christian fiction
My rating: 9 out of 10
Potential objectionable elements: The scene mentioned.
Recommendation: Yes.

(Sharing at Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books, Literary Musing Monday, and Carol‘s Books You Loved)

Books you loved 4

literacy-musing-mondays-300x300

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Home to Chicory Lane

  1. I always thought I’d want to operate a bed and breakfast. Maybe I should read this book to get that idea out of my system. Sounds like a good book. Thanks for the review.

  2. Sounds like a great series. I often wonder why an author has to go into such details of intimate relations… I can do with that much detail! 😉
    I live in Missouri and I love B&B!

  3. Pingback: Reading Plans for 2016 | Stray Thoughts

  4. Hi Barbara! I really enjoy your blog! I’ve read the whole Chicory Lane series – 4 books so far. The last one is coming out in February. I really enjoyed these books, and our family shares a Kindle account and I manage it. My husband and I and 3 daughters all enjoy Kindle books. One of my daughters is just as big a fan of this series as I am. I actually enjoyed Books 2, 3, and 4 even more than the first one! Each book has to do with one of the Whitmans’ grown children.

  5. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2016 | Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Mount TBR Reading Challenge Checkpoint #3 | Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Books Read in 2016 | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Mount TBR Reading Challenge Wrap-up | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Book Review: Two Roads Home | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

