Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall flowers

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a fairly nice week. Still hot and humid in the day time but fairly pleasant in the evenings and mornings. I’m still longing for fall coolness, though! I feel like my body has been trying to come down with something, but I’ve gotten some extra rest to try to head it off. Here are some of the best parts of the last week:

1. Grandparent’s Day. I know that’s a holiday that hasn’t caught on in a big way yet. But I am thankful our son and daughter-in-law remember it. 🙂 We came home Sunday afternoon from church to dinner already made, flowers for me, and jerky for Jim, and I wondered what the occasion was. Then they showed us a Grandparent’s Day card Timothy had “signed” for himself. Awww! And earlier in the week Mittu had tried a new recipe and wanted to bring it over to share – Mexican Chicken Casserole. It was very good!

2. AC fixed. We noticed around bedtime last Friday that the AC had been running constantly that evening, and when I woke up in the middle of the night, it was still running. But it wasn’t putting out much air, and the air’s coolness was decreasing. We do have a service contract with the company who sold and installed it, and called them Sat. morning. Thankfully they did work on Saturdays. We hoped it just needed freon, but something with the compressor wasn’t working – a switch, if I remember correctly. Thankfully the guy had the part on his truck. So by the time it was just starting to get uncomfortable, it was fixed. I’m thankful it was done so quickly (my m-i-l has a window AC unit in her room, so she was fine.)

3. Lists made and checked off. I don’t make lists every day or every week, but if I am really busy, or the stuff I list is very important, or if I’m afraid of forgetting something, then I do. This week it wasn’t anything urgent: I just felt a bit scattered and kept forgetting to take care of some little things. So I finally put them down, and it was nice to see them crossed off one by one. One of life’s little pleasures. 🙂

4. Timothy “fixing”. He’s at that age where he learns or says something new every week, if not every day. One day he was tinkering around his little mini lawn chair saying, “I fix it!”

5. Seeing our favorite bath aide. You don’t think of being a bath aide for elderly people as a particularly thrilling job, but one lady from hospice is just superb at it, always cheerful, efficient, caring. She’s our regular person for my m-i-l twice a week. But a few weeks ago another patient grabbed her hand and wrenched it in such a way that it has been swollen and in pain ever since. She’s going to see an orthopedic surgeon next week. So we’ve been missing her. And then she suddenly showed up on our doorstep Thursday! The hospice agency sends the doctor out once ever few months to check on my m-i-l (a nurse comes once a week, and we can call any time we have a need). The doctor always has someone with her, and this time it was our bath aide! She helped take and record vitals for the doctor. It was just so good to see her and hear from her directly how she’s doing.

Hope you’ve had a good week as well!

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. What a good week! I enjoyed reading about the bath aide. How nice to think that even the lowliest job can be done in a way that would be pleasing to God — and that will make a difference to others. I hope your MIL’s hand is okay! Very cute about Timothy “fixing” 🙂

  2. great list of blessings this week…and I’m with you! I love getting things checked off of my “to do” list…..I have quite a long list now that I’m no longer working.

    It has been NO humidity here all week…we were finally able to turn off the central air on Tuesday and it has been simply glorious…almost autumn!!

    Happy Weekend Barbara…God’s abundant blessings to you.

  3. A CNA or bath aide who meshes well with the family is like striking gold. I hope yours can get fixed soon and be back for good. I’m glad you were able to see her with the doctor. Last summer, we had the air conditioner company out three times for various problems. This year, all has been good. You sure do miss it when it’s not working!

  4. With all the in-home visits for your MIL, no wonder you have to keep to such a tight schedule. I’m so pleased to hear that your bath aide seems to be back on rotation.

    Great timing on the AC, esp that your repairman came prepared. I can’t imagine having so much heat and humidity without it. Hope your cool weather arrives sooner rather than later!

  5. Glad you got the AC fixed. We don’t have it here as usually we don’t need it but the last few weeks we’ve had some very hot days and it would have been appreciated. I hope your bath aide is soon on the mend. It must be hard when routines like that get disrupted and you have to get used to someone else. Have a good weekend.

  6. Good help is such a blessing. I do hope the aide can resume her job as a bath aide soon. Yippee for AC being fixed. Love hearing those fun little phrases that younguns pick up like “I fix it” or “me do it” too cute.

  7. Getting something like the ac fixed in such a timely manner is a real blessing. Sometimes that can take a long time while they wait on parts. I love seeing things crossed off on to-do lists! Your son and d-i-l are such blessings. So sweet of them to make a celebration for you.

  8. So many blessings this week, Barbara. Grandparents Day celebration! Working AC. I’m impressed that your company came on Saturday and even had the parts available. And seeing your favorite helper 🙂 is great. I hope you have many more things crossed of your list this week.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

