Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Let’s jump right in:

1. A long weekend. Having everyone off for Labor Day makes it feel like we had an extra Saturday in the week. But it means all the other days of the week I’m having to ask myself, “What day is this?” πŸ™‚ I don’t even remember now what we did except for grilling burgers for dinner.

2. A thorough car wash. My dear husband gave my car the deluxe treatment, washing it, vacuuming the carpet, cleaning the mats, even dusting the dashboard.

3. A breakfast biscuit. When I was driving my kids to school, I used to treat myself to breakfast out about once a week. Those days have been over for years, and though I’m up at 6, I’m not usually out and about until a few hours later. But I had to fast for lab work before my physical and got breakfast afterward at a drive-through to bring home . Delicious!

4. Seeing Timothy play with a friend. My son and daughter-in-law had friends in town with a son just 7 months younger than Timothy. I was over for a bit and it was so fun to see the boys playing together like they were old friends, too.

5. Cracker Barrel. I still had a gift card for them from I don’t know when – I think two Christmases ago. I love them but my husband’s not crazy about them, and I’m not usually near one at lunch time. But I was on Wednesday! So I got their meat loaf plate and a slice of Coca Cola cake and brought it home to eat. Plus I got a couple of items in their shop – and still have a bit left on my gift card!

img_1841

Bonus: We got Mexican Food take-out one night and watched Toy Story – our old video tape of it on our old VHS player. One of the best movies ever, and it was fun to introduce it to Timothy.

Happy Friday!

 

Save

Save

13 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Cracker Barrel is one of my favorite places! To shop and to eat. I’m also having to think hard as to what day it is this week.

  2. Wasn’t that long weekend great? The only happy and good part of your #3 breakfast biscuit was having that fave food AFTER the fasting for lab work.
    Gift cards are a great gift and you can use them whenever you can and want πŸ™‚
    (PAL is an acronym for her name P.. Abigail.. Louise)

  3. I’ll have to introduce Toy Story to Josie – we watched Charlie Brown at our sleepover last week. She loved it. It was so cute to hear her laugh. Aren’t grandkids fun?!!

    I love gift-cards – and I love Cracker Barrel – unfortunately we don’t have it up here. But whenever we’re in the States we make sure to go!

    Hope you have a great weekend Barbara!

  4. My husband is the same way about Cracker Barrel. I really like it, but he never wants to go there. Too bad you don’t live closer – we could be CB friends. πŸ™‚ Also – Have you tried the Cheddar Bo at Bojangles? I am getting perilously close to an addiction. They are to die for!!!!!

    • That would be fun to have a CB friend! When we lived in Spartanburg, there were a couple of other ladies I used to meet for lunch there fairly often, and I’ve missed that! I hadn’t heard of the Cheddar Bo before. I’m not a big fan of Bojangles but I do like their steak biscuit and cinnamon twist.

  5. Ah, VHS πŸ˜‰ I still have some old favorites in that format. Glad you could have some happy solo meals — and pick up a little something too! What we need are more long weekends so that we can get used to the days of the weeks.

  6. I don’t care for cracker barrel either as it isn’t too vegan or vegetarian friendly. (at least not the ones here in the northeast). But having a special breakfast and lunch in one week is definitely a treat and a blessing! Glad you got to enjoy that!

    It must be fun to see your grandson often….and playing with new friends is always special.

    Washing and vacuuming out my car is on my to do list for tomorrow! Funny you should mention it …..:)

    Enjoy the week

  7. I love the Toy Story series and actually cried in the last one. πŸ˜€

    We don’t have a Cracker Barrel here and I didn’t think to look for one when we were in Spokane this past summer. But it seems lots of people do like them.

    What a blessing to have a spruced up car that you didn’t do the work for!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

