Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been another busy week. One reason I love FFF is that it helps me recount blessings that I might otherwise gloss over. I wasn’t sure when I’d be able to work in an FFF post, and thought about just skipping it because I didn’t have anything off the top of my head to share. But after just a few minutes of thinking about it, I came up with more than five. I love this opportunity to stop, think, and be grateful for God’s gifts, large and small.

1. Paying only 80 cents a gallon for gas. Our local grocery store has reward points for their gas station based on grocery purchases. This summer they’ve been offering double reward points if you shop on weekends and coupons good for 100 reward points. So at my last gas stop, I only paid 89 cents per gallon. It’s been a long time since that has happened!

IMG_1829

2. Safe travels. My husband and youngest son both had trips this week, and for my son, it was his first time to drive a road trip by himself (which made his mom a little antsy). But all went well.

3. Brunch or a late breakfast at my son and daughter-in-law’s house. Most of our get-togethers are here just due to my husband’s mom being here, but we have someone with her in the mornings, so it was fun to go to their place and especially to have Timothy show us around.

4. Help at home. When Jim is gone, his mother’s care falls to me. One of the nights he was away, Jason and Mittu came over and made dinner and cleaned up the kitchen afterward. That’s a blessing any time, but especially when Jim’s away and I’m feeling overloaded.

5. Shopping with Jesse. We had to take Jesse’s car in to be serviced before his trip, and I followed him when he dropped his car off, then he rode back with me. But that meant he had to accompany me on my errands, which he hadn’t done probably since early high school when I’d have errands after I picked him up from school. It was fun taking him in to the baby department at Target – that’s something he generally wouldn’t be interested in, but having a little nephew now, he was showing me clothes he thought were cute and finding toys he wanted to get him at Christmas. It was fun. 🙂 Plus I found this adorable shirt for Timothy.

IMG_1830

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I love that your son went shopping with you. It’s fun to get to have some of those moments back. Wow, great deal on gasoline. Our grocery store does the same, but it’s been a long, long time since I’ve had a deal like that. It’s nice to have family that will share the load with you. It sounds like you have some great ‘kids’.

    Enjoy your weekend, Barbara.

  2. That shirt is adorable. I always enjoy your Friday posts. Sharing your blessings is an encouragement to me. 🙂 A couple of years ago for some strange reason I ended up driving somewhere with all three of my adult children (without their spouses and children) in the backseat of my car. It was like they were in high school again! It’s funny the things that take you back in time.

  3. I think that shirt is adorable! It is nice that you can get out of the house sometimes. I shop at a grocery store that gives reward points and it’s very helpful at the gas pump. I’ve not accumulated enough to get gas that low though! Have a great afternoon.

  4. That shirt is adorable. Jason and Mittu are the sweetest. That’s great that they honor you with their service. 89 cents!! woohoo…

  5. Barbara, your week sounds fantastic! How fun to spend some time hanging out with your son. It’s so great having relationships with our adult children, isn’t it?

    I would be antsy, too, about a solo road trip. My son travels a lot, but he mostly does that by plane (he works for an airline, so he gets free travel). I don’t so much worry about him in the air, but if he rents a car and is navigating unfamiliar roads in unfamiliar places, I sometimes am a bit anxious. I’m learning to trust God with him, though, so I’m not as nervous now as I would have been in years past.

    Wow, gas for under a dollar a gallon! And I thought my $2.39 a gallon this past week was good!

    Brunch is always a treat. So glad you got to do that.

    Blessings,
    Patti

    P.S. Penny Serenade is one of my 10 all-time favorite movies and my favorite Cary Grant film

  6. Shopping with a young adult male– a great time, but obviously not a usual activity 🙂 Love the shirt for Timothy.
    Your son and dil are wonderful to help you during such a busy week.
    Best blessing is that your men returned home safely.

  7. that is an amazing price for gasoline!! here in eastern NY we are paying about $2.12 but in central NY they are paying $2.26 so I have the better deal than my sister. butmyours is even better! i should do that reward program!

    how fun that your boy wanted to shop with you.

    praise God for safe travels.

    Happy labor day!

  8. Wow, I can’t believe you payed that for gas. I just payed 93.9 cents a litre and there are almost 4 litres in a gallon! And I live in oil rich Alberta! Sweet that your boy went shopping with you. I can hardly wait for grandkids so I can go cute kid clothes shopping!

  9. Ugh, kids’ clothes are so stinking cute — it’s hard not to get some just because! So glad you’ve had some good help this week with Jim away. I’m pretty jealous of the gas price you managed with your grocery points. Nothing like that out here!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

