What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Between the Olympics, two birthdays, and a ten-day “stay-cation,” it’s been a different kind of month for us. I’ve been wondering how my reading record will go for this month. Let’s see:

Since last time I have completed:

Leaving Oxford by Janet W. Ferguson, reviewed here. Christian fiction about an ad exec who can’t leave her small town due to anxiety issues but falls in love with a coach who has a chance to go to the big leagues in another town. Good story.

More Things in Heaven and Earth by Jeff High, audiobook, reviewed here. A new doctor from Atlanta reluctantly starts his first practice in a small TN town only because of a program that will pay off his school bills and gradually finds good in the town and its people. Some bad language, and it took me a while to warm up to the characters, but ultimately good.

Be Mature (James): Growing Up in Christ and Be Hopeful (1 Peter): How to Make the Best Times Out of Your Worst Times by Warren Wiersbe. Not reviewed but very good.

Tuck Everlasting, reviewed here. Children’s story about a girl who stumbles across a family who are stuck forever at their current ages. Thought-provoking, nice writing.

The Green Ember, reviewed here. Children’s fantasy about rabbits who are preparing for a better world while fighting against wolves and birds of prey who are trying to extinguish them. Fairly good, though there are some odd things about the writing in spots.

Rescuing Finley by Dan Walsh, reviewed here. Heartwarming story about how various lives with various sets of problems intersect with that of a dog in need.

Ten Fingers For God: The Life and Work of Dr. Paul Brand by Paul Brand, reviewed here. A reread from 20 or so years ago, it’s a wonderful biography of a man raised in a small village in India who goes on to become a pioneer surgeon for lepers.

Well, I’m surprised! I read less due to the Olympics but more during our stay-cation, so I guess it averaged out. Plus last month’s last Tuesday for the Nightstand post left us with several days to be counted for this month.

I’m currently reading:

The Promise of Jesse Woods by Chris Fabry, audiobook.

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson. This one keeps getting pushed behind others – I need to finish it.

Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney

I’m No Angel: From Victoria’s Secret Model to Role Model by Kylie Bisutti

Up Next:

These were all listed as “next up” on last month’s nightstand post – but I didn’t get to them yet:

I’m Still Here: A New Philosophy of Alzheimer’s Care by John Zeisel, HT to Lisa’s review.

June Bug by Chris Fabry

Waiting For Peter by Elizabeth Musser

After that, I’ll choose from my TBR pile (to which I’ve added half a dozen or more books from my birthday) or the multitudes loaded on my Kindle app.

IMG_1820

I also did a post about my bookcases. I’d love to see yours!

Save

7 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2016

  1. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the Chris Fabry and Elizabeth Musser books. Two of my all time favorites. Looks like you have some great reading ahead of you!

  2. Lots of good stuff here — More Things in Heaven and Earth sounds interesting. I remember my 7th grade SSchool teacher always doing Wiersbe studies with us, years ago. I should read something by him again … on the to-read pile, I see Love Letters by Beverly Lewis. I loved some of her Amish series years back, but LL fell totally flat for me. Hopefully it will be more of a winner for you!

  3. I have a few Beverly Lewis books to read. I like Amish fiction but I have to be in the mood. Some interesting books I see in your book pile.

  4. The Olympics cut into my reading time too, Barbara. And probably will again in September because I recorded a lot of things that I haven’t watched yet. ha. (But likely much of it will be deleted.) I’ve read some devotionals by Warren Wiersbe and really enjoyed them; both these books here sound good as well.

  5. I completely missed the boat on Nightstand this last month. We’ve been sick for EIGHT WEEKS now and all I’ve pretty much been doing is trying to keep us generally afloat (i.e., fed, bathed, well-rested). So I missed Nightstand and will have to jump back in this month.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

