Bookcases

When I visit someone’s home and see an assortment of books, at some point during the visit I like to meander over and see what books my host has. I’ve been thinking for some time about sharing my own bookcases. Someone mentioned a long time ago that she thought it would be interesting to see blogging friends’ book collections, and then recently Melanie shared her own, which brought the idea to the forefront of my thinking again and spurred me on to share my own.

So these are the main two in the living room:

IMG_1812(1)

My husband made one in the early years of our marriage, and then as my collection grew, he made a second one to match. But he says we don’t have any room for more. πŸ™‚ And we truly don’t, unless we get rid of something else which we’re not ready to do yet. He doesn’t quite understand my penchant for keeping books except for reference. He figures once you know the story, you don’t need the book any more. πŸ™‚ But he tolerates my obsession as much as he can. To me, most of my books are treasured friends, and some I do read over and over. Others I might not read as often, but I’m still not ready to let them go. But I have had to purge my collection when we moved here and have had to delete a few here and there as I have added others and needed a space.

Above the couch is most of my Boyd’s Bear figurine collection. I like having them behind glass where I can see them but they don’t get dusty, but they do seem a little farther removed than when they were out and around the room. But not having to dust wins. πŸ™‚ To the right you can see a bit of Timothy’s corner, where we keep toys for when he’s here.

On the bookcase on the left I have Christian fiction and classics and some assorted others along with some photo albums at the bottom:

IMG_1814

IMG_1815

The carved wooden box was a gift from my middle son, Jason, from a mission trip he took with his youth group to Cameroon. The bears were gifts from my kids: Timothy plays with these sometimes now.

The one on the right holds biographies, assorted Christian nonfiction, and college yearbooks.

IMG_1817

This got cut off in the above picture, but on the left is a special Valentine from Timothy, and on the right is a special photo from Jason and Mittu of my husband and Timothy when he was in the NICU. My reflection is blurring it a little, but not the essential part.

IMG_1826

IMG_1818

Some of you may remember that the book with the wedding photo was one our kids put together for our 35th anniversary, and it’s one of my treasures. πŸ™‚ I have a set of Matthew Henry commentaries on the bottom shelf that were given to me 35 or so years ago by my former youth pastor when he left that position to go to Mexico as a missionary. I used them some, but the commentary on each verse is quite long, so I just don’t dig them out often unless I am really puzzling over something. I keep thinking I should sell them online or give them to someone, but then I am reluctant to do so in case I just might want to use them again. πŸ™‚ I know you can find some of them online: they probably have the complete set online somewhere, but so far when I have looked, I’ve found condensed versions which wereΒ  a little easier to read but didn’t make quite as much sense with what was left out.

This one is in my sewing/ craft room and holds mainly craft-related books or Christian non-fiction relating specifically to women. I just got rid of a number of old “how to save money and live frugally” books because I figured they were out of date now, plus you can find a lot of that kind of thing online these days.:

IMG_1821

On top are several sets of cassette-taped messages, some from women’s conferences, some a few special sermon series.

IMG_1822

My mom gave me the little girl on the top left: she’s designed to hold thread and notions, but I don’t want to leave my thread out to get dusty. But I think she’s cute. πŸ™‚ The hearts in the vase on the right were leftover from a ladies’ luncheon a few years ago. The girl in the photos was me in college. πŸ™‚ I think my husband had those in his dorm room when we were dating, and I just rediscovered them recently and stuck them there for now. I have a few Dee Henderson and other books there partly because there was no room elsewhere and partly because this room doubles as a guest room, and someone might like to read them while visiting.

IMG_1823

The little pile there is cards, notes, mementos that I need to figure out what to do with. πŸ™‚

IMG_1824

I admit I cleaned up this last one pretty extensively before taking a picture. πŸ™‚ It’s a small one in my bedroom, and I plop my purse there on top. When I go out again, I usually clean any receipts and papers from it and just leave it in a pile until I decide whether I need to keep them. Plus any new books or books I’ve just finished but haven’t decided whether or where to keep end up in piles here. So I sorted and organized all of that. This is kind of a hodgepodge, but it’s mostly humor, women’s books, child-rearing books, and writing books.

IMG_1819

The pile on top is To Be Read books (and this doesn’t include the bunch on my Kindle and a few in a drawer in my nightstand!

IMG_1820

In addition to these, I have, I think, three boxes in various closets. I do need to go through them and probably give most of them away: they’re not doing anyone any good in a closet. When we first moved here I just wasn’t ready to get rid of them yet, but it’s been 6 years now…so probably most of them can go.

I’m sorry some of these turned out a bit blurry – they looked clear when I took them, but enlarged they are not very crisp.

What’s on your bookshelves? I’d love to see!

8 thoughts on “Bookcases

  1. Loved your book cases Barbara! I love how you have decorated around your books with things that mean a lot to you! Your organization is wonderful! Wish I could get it together like that! Too many hands grabbing books off my shelves and not putting them back where they go. Thanks for sharing them!

  2. This post is music to my ears! I loved looking at your bookcases! I think that the books ones has can tell so much about that person. The Matthew Henry commentaries must be just about priceless. They sound like they are more for deep study and a quick reference. Thanks for sharing your book cases. Such fun!

  3. What a fun peek into your bookshelves, Barbara! Though you said you’d tidied various sections for the photoshoot, it looks like you keep everything well-organized and sorted for easy reference. I love to read but only keep a few — a handful of Agatha Christies, Dorothy Sayers, an Austin and Bronte or two, a clutch of Kristen Heitzmanns. Most of the bookcases in my house are filled to the brim, two-layers-deep, and stacked with roomie’s theological and history books. She loves church history, current issues, and biblical references.

  4. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

  5. Last post I did a comment and lost it…I hope I make it to the end this time (my computer does crazy things)…I thought when I first began reading this post that I don’t really have any collections of books anymore except what is on my Kindle but then saw the ones on your shelves: I have all of Jan Karon’s books and all of the Elm Creek Quilt series…recently I donated a lot of books to the church library so I don’t have so many and moving several times really thinned my library…but let me say that some books I’ve read numerous times, gotten rid of and repurchased because I wanted to read them again…I am spoiled by my Kindle and haven’t read any paper books in ages…sharing your bookshelves is a good posting prompt. Oh and I see Larkspur to Candleford on the shelf, I like that series.
    Mama Bear

  6. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2016 | Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Favorite Posts of 2016 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

