Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

How did it get it be two weeks into August already?!  Here are a few favorites from the last week:

1.My son and daughter-in-law’s 7th anniversary. Jesse and I had fun dropping in over at their house to deliver flowers, a card, and some chocolate.

2. Baby-sitting Timothy so his parents could go out for their anniversary. I wasn’t sure how he would do being away from them, but except for asking about them several times, he did fine. I’m glad he enjoys being here. They celebrated early on Saturday, going out for the morning and then out for lunch. Then they came to our house and made nachos for dinner. Trading baby-sitting for dinner sounds like a good deal to me!

3. The Olympics. I don’t watch athletics much, but there is something about the Olympics! I just wish they wouldn’t show the parts I like best late at night. 🙂

4. Spray paint. In addition the the cart mentioned last week, I painted this button decoration for my sewing room. I’m getting better at it! I’ve had the blue and white/beige one for a while, trying to decide where to put them up. They only other color they had was red, which I didn’t want, so recently I got another of the white-ish ones and painted it pink. I may paint that white/beige one a purer white at some point, though I do like the shading. Once again, on sale 40% off and purchased with gift cards.

IMG_1794

IMG_1795

By the way, I did have the opportunity to use both Cricut machines on their new cart this week, and the set-up worked great!

5. A preview of gluten-free Texas Sheet Cake. Texas Sheet Cake is probably my favorite cake. Last year for my birthday we got a Coca-Cola Cake from Cracker Barrel, which is pretty close to it, but it was humongous and my gluten-sensitive daughter-in-law couldn’t eat it. My birthday is coming up later this month, and I found a couple of GF TSC recipes to see if anyone wanted to try their hand at it for my birthday, and if not, the Cracker Barrel cake would be fine again. Mittu did a practice cake this past week to test it out, and they happened to have it the evening I dropped in, so I got to try a sample. It turned out really well! A lot of GF cakes are kind of heavy, but this turned out just right. I am looking forward to more later in the month!

And a bonus for this week: anticipation! My oldest son is coming to visit from RI soon!

Happy Friday!

Save

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. The gluten free cake sounds wonderful. I am wanting to get together a birthday tea party for my friend but she is gluten intolerant as well as some other allergies so I’m looking for something good. Perhaps you could share that recipe? I do love the look of your sewing room. The colors are so pretty there and I do like the way you painted the buttons. Have a great day.

  2. What a good week! I hear you on the Olympics — I never make it much past 10, so I’m missing most of the really good stuff. And I’m like you — the Olympics are most all of the sports I ever watch. The babysitting sounds fun. Happy anniversary to your son and DIL!

  3. Happy anniversary to your son and daughter-in-law. How fun for you to get to babysit your grandson while they went out. I look forward to the days of being a grandma and to babysitting.

    Those buttons are WAY cute! What a delightful little craft room you have created.

    I’m with you on the Olympics…both in enjoying them and in wishing things weren’t on so late at night. I’ve been going to bed after 11 lately, and I prefer to go to bed at 10. I find myself getting misty-eyed quite often, especially during the medal ceremony when the national anthem is played and the flag is raised.

    Have a beautiful day,
    Patti

  4. Oo. Umm…..is Mittu willing to share that recipe?! Because I would LOOOVE to see it!!

    Totally with you on the Olympics. I am not a sports fan by ANY stretch of the imagination but I do get a thrill out of the Olympics and we’re having a lot of fun watching them.

    Have a great weekend!

  5. i dont eat cake but it is nice to know there are gf choices for folks who need it!
    what a cute sewing room!! i dont sew but that room looks so cozy and perfect for creativity.

    how fun to watch your grandson so his parents could go out. my husband and i always hired babysitters from our church as both sets of grands lived too far away to babysit. enjoy the time with him!

    happy weekend

  6. I’m glad you found a good recipe for the cake. Because I eat a vegan diet, cake isn’t usually on my list so it’s always a plus to find a recipe that works.
    Timothy seems to be adjusting and growing up so well–what a blessing for you to live nearby and to be able to spend time with him.
    Happy Anniversary to your son and daughter-in-law!

  7. Hey, I want a recipe for that Texas Sheet Cake! I agree that many GF cakes are heavy. Congrats to your son and Mittu on their 7th anniversary! Dinner for babysitting sounds like a deal, too. And your kids are always so thoughtful to do dinner for no occasion at all. Your craft area looks astoundingly tidy — I’m very impressed.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

