What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

There are a few days left in July, but the fourth Tuesday is here, and that means WOYN!

Since last time I have completed:

Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography by Laura Ingalls Wilder and Pamela Smith Hill. Finally! And enjoyed it very much. A very thorough and exceedingly well done resource. Reviewed here.

Eight Twenty Eight: When Love Didn’t Give Up by Ian and Larissa Murphy, nonfiction. They were engaged when Ian was in a serious car accident and suffered brain trauma. Reviewed here.

City of Tranquil Light by Bo Caldwell, audiobook, reviewed here. Lovely novelization of the author’s grandparents’ time as missionaries in China in the early 20th century.

 The Methuselah Project by Rick Barry, fiction, reviewed here. WWII American pilot shot down in Germany is experimented on by  Nazi doctor trying to accelerate the body’s healing and prolong life. Excellent!

Thin Places: A Memoir on by Mary DeMuth, nonfiction, reviewed here. God’s grace in healing from childhood trauma including drug-using parents and rape.

They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti, fiction, reviewed here. Libby and Greg’s marriage is crumbling due to blame, guilt, and emotional distancing, and Libby is planning to leave, but then Greg goes missing and she must find him.

Great British Short Stories: A Vintage Collection of Classic Tales, audiobook, reviewed here. Not my favorite, but not unpleasant.

C. S. Lewis’ Letters to Children, reviewed here, in conjunction with Carrie’s Chronicles of Narnia Reading Challenge. Enjoyed it quite a lot.

I’m currently reading:

Ten Fingers For God: The Life and Work of Dr. Paul Brand by Paul Brand. A reread from 20 or so years ago.

Leaving Oxford by Janet W. Ferguson. Just started this one – not sure what I think yet.

More Things in Heaven and Earth by Jeff High. Ditto.

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson

Be Mature (James): Growing Up in Christ by Warren Wiersbe

Up Next:

Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney. I know I have listed that several times, and it keeps getting pushed back, I think partly because it’s the first in a series, and I think I am going to want to read the series straight through once I start it.

I’m Still Here: A New Philosophy of Alzheimer’s Care by John Zeisel, HT to Lisa’s review.

June Bug by Chris Fabry

Waiting For Peter by Elizabeth Musser

Happy Reading!

Save

5 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2016

  1. Sounds like some interesting reads! I can only read 2 books at the most at one time so I’m impressed with your concentration. Have a great day.

    • I can only do that by having certain ones in certain places and for certain times – I have one I keep by my Bible and read after devotions when I have time, one on my Kindle I read if I am out or when I get ready to go to sleep, one in the bathroom, one on a audiobook for when I am driving and getting ready in the mornings. If I were reading several books at random, I’d get muddled. But because they’re kind of compartmentalized (and usually different genres), it works for me.

  2. So many good books here, Barbara. You had quite a reading month! The Methuselah Project piqued my interest first. I just checked that my library doesn’t carry it, so I’ll have to watch for it on a Kindle deal. Thanks for the great list.

  3. I’ve been reading your reviews all along this month (even if I’ve rarely had two hands free to comment), and there have been quite a few of your recent reads that I”m interested in picking up.

    I’ll look forward to hearing your comments on Give Them Grace. I got about halfway through that book when Tirzah Mae was brand new – and then busyness took over and I never finished. I pulled it out of the basement bookshelf just a couple of days ago, though, to give it another go – now that Tirzah Mae is communicative, I’m feeling the need for help with the heart aspect of parenting (not just the “here is how to get your kids to eat peas” type of advice found in secular parenting/toddler care manuals.)

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

