Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

We’re over halfway through July and heading toward August! Here are some favorite parts of the last week:

1. Jason’s birthday. We kind of extended the celebration: since his birthday was on a week day, we had our main celebration on Saturday but then got together to play Settlers of Cataan on the actual day. Always a joy to celebrate God’s gift of my middle son. ♥

IMG_0016

2. Grilled pizza. This was the main dish for Jason’s birthday – which Mittu put together and Jason grilled. They were all very good, especially the dessert pizza. 🙂

IMG_1770

IMG_1771

3. Being back in the gym is an odd listing since that’s not my favorite thing to do or place to be. But I do feel better afterward. Last week I had only been able to get out one day for various reasons, and it felt good to get back to it this week.

4. Power restored. I’ve mentioned several times being thankful for not losing power during storms. We actually did lose power on Saturday evening, but there were no storms – we never did figure out what caused it. Thankfully we had my mother-in-law’s dinner already pureed and heated when it happened, but we also had her flat on her back, changing her – and you can’t raise the hospital bed with no electricity! Yikes! But we used the Hoyer lift to get her in a seated position in her wheelchair and fed her there. I figured evening/nighttime was probably the best time for it to go out, and we’d just go to bed early. But thankfully it came back on later in the evening. Just having it off for that amount of time made me appreciate it so much more.

5. Two more new successful recipe experiments: Macaroni Sausage Stir-Fry and One-Skillet Chicken Parmesan.

Bonus: This photo. ♥♥♥

IMG_1769

Happy Friday!

Save

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Looks like you had a lovely celebration together – the dessert pizza looked very tempting. Glad you got the power back fairly quickly – would never have thought about how it might affect those caring for the elderly at home.

  2. Such sweet family pictures. I love the look of excitement that children have on their faces for birthdays, even if it’s not their own. Maybe it’s the candles on a cake. The pizza looks scrumptious.

  3. happy birthday to your boy! we also play Sttlers of Caatan but usually just in the winter months. it is my husband’s fave.

    looks like a lovely week….yes…we take electricity for granted!!

    I hope you have a restful weekend!

  4. Happy birthday to your son! Hope he has an awesome new year of life.

    We love to play Settlers of Cataan. I need to get the extension pack, so we can play when we have 6 people over.

    Your pizzas look fantastic! So many people I know grill pizza. I have never tried doing that, but I definitely want to.

    I assume the little guy is your grandson. He’s a cutie!

    Blessings,
    Patti

  5. The hospital electric beds are wonderful but there is no crank at the end of the bed to use them manually without power. I’m glad you had the hoyer lift for her. The pizzas look delicious. Happy birthday to Jason. I have some Leslie Sansone walking DVDs that I’m going to start using. My doctor’s nurse practioner highly recommend them. They’ve been on my shelf forever. I guess I might as well use them, huh! Have a great weekend.

  6. Look at those awesome grilled pizzas! I think I’m obsessed with food these days. Happy birthday to your son! We get to see our second born next weekend! Restored power is always so appreciated! Have a great weekend Barbara!

  7. Happy birthday to your son! Those grilled pizzas look delicious. I’ve them once or twice but should experiment more with them. That little Timothy is soooo cute!

  8. I’ve never had grilled pizzas, but those look delicious! I guess I need to be more adventurous in my cooking. Thanks for the links to new recipes, I will check them out.

    So glad your power was only out for a little while! This time of year is so difficult when the power is out because of a lack of a/c. I would think that would be hard on your mother-in-law.

    Isn’t it incredible the way the grandkids grow so fast! I know ours are close in age to your Timothy. I am trying to savor every moment because it goes so fast ….

  9. Happy Birthday to your son! It’s obvious everyone loved the pizzas.
    Love the photo of your husband and Timothy. What a blessing to live so close to him.
    For several years I lived where there was no electricity. Yes, we do appreciate it when we have it if we experience time without it.

  10. Oooh, grilled pizza sounds fantastic! So many choices, too. Even though you post photos of little Timothy, I’m still amazed at how fast he’s growing, sitting at the table and smiling into the camera.

    I hadn’t thought how dependent on electricity you are for essentials like caring for Grandma. Good thing you have work-arounds.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

